Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Dawson Prize

Dawson Prize in Genetics

The Trinity College Dublin Dawson Prize in Genetics has been awarded since 2006 to geneticists of international prominence. The prize was established by a gift from George Dawson (1927-2004), the founder of the Department of Genetics at Trinity College.

In accordance with the wishes of Prof. Dawson, recipients of the prize give a public lecture and spend at least the equivalent of one day on the occasion of his/her visit in discussion with sophister and graduate students of the Smurfit Institute of Genetics.

The prize is presented in form of a gold miniature of the sculpture The Double Helix by Brian King.

The latest Dawson Prize was awarded in November 2018 to Trudy F. C. Mackay, PhD, FRS (Director of the Center for Human Genetics, the Self Family Endowed Chair of Human Genetics and Professor of Genetics and Biochemistry at Clemson University) for her work on understanding the genetic and environmental factors affecting variation in quantitative traits. Read more

Trudy Mackay receives Dawson Prize 2018 Trudy Mackay, Dawson Prize recipient 2018, and Head of Genetics, Aoife McLysaght

Trudy Mackay receives Dawson Prize 2018 Trudy Mackay accepts the 2018 Dawson Prize. She is pictured here with her husband (left), Professor Robert Anholt, Associate Professor of Genetics and Neuroscience at Trinity, Kevin Mitchell, and Professor in Genetics at Trinity, Aoife McLysaght.

Dawson Prize 2018 The Dawson Prize 2018

Past recipients of the Dawson Prize: