Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

ECTS Credits in TSM

The European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) has been introduced in Trinity College Dublin, and applies to all undergraduate and taught postgraduate programmes.

ECTS credits represent the student workload required to achieve the desired outcomes of modules and programmes.

Each year of undergraduate study carries 60 credits. Subjects within TSM are awarded ECTS credit ratings. Students are required to take modules amounting to 60 ECTS credits in a given year, 30 credits for each TSM subject. The ECTS credit value for each module is available from course handbooks.

Students participating in a year long erasmus/study abroad programme as part of their TSM course are required to take modules with a minimum value of 45 ECTS credits overall. Students must take a minimum of 20 ECTS credits in each TSM subject, with a minimum of 45 ECTS overall. Students participate in a half year exchange should contact the TSM Course Office for guidance on ECTS credit requirements.

Further information is available on ECTS in Trinity.



Last updated 21 January 2016 by Two Subject Moderatorship (Email).