Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Alternative Entry Routes > QQI/FET

QQI Further Education and Training (QQI-FET) Applicants

Trinity is committed to fostering a diverse and inclusive community. Enhancing partnerships between Further Education (FE) and Higher Education (HE) is a key objective of the University and the National Access Plan. Trinity has committed to increasing numbers of qualified applicants to the University from Level 5 and 6 (QQI-FET) Awards. Trinity offers QQI-FET progression pathways in Science, Engineering, Nursing, Midwifery and the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. There are places reserved for FET students in Law, Business, Languages, History, Sociology, Film, Drama, and other Humanities disciplines. FET students with appropriate level 5 or 6 major awards can apply to do Midwifery, as well as Children's, and Mental Health Nursing. STEM-focused students who meet specific module requirements can apply to degree courses in Science, Biological and Biomedical Sciences, and Engineering. NEW entry route in 2022: Dental Technology (TR803) - B.Dent.Tech. Ordinary Bachelor Degree (NFQ Level 7) To be considered for a place on a participating degree programmes, students are required to have completed specific Level 5 or Level 6 courses, hold the correct number of distinctions (80% or better) and have met any additional requirements. For more information on applying to Trinity with your Level 5 or 6 QQI-FET award and progression pathways please see the TCD QQI/FET guidebook (5.1MB).

How do I apply?

Eligible QQI-FET students should apply online through the Central Applications Office (CAO) website by February 1st 2022. Successful applicants are admitted on a competitive basis to year one of a degree programme.

What QQI-FET awards are accepted?

Applicants must have obtained a full QQI-FET Level 5 or 6 major award. A Module Certificate is not sufficient. A QQI-FET major award typically contains 8 modules.

Students are required to have a minimum of 5 distinctions* (80% or better). Some courses require distinctions in specific modules, or a specific QQI-FET major award. It is important to know which major awards are accepted for entry to these courses.

Work Experience and Work Practice Modules

*5N1356/6N1946/W20008 Work Experience and 5N1433/6N1947 Work Practice cannot be used as one of the required distinctions for any degree course.

QQI-FET Scoring

Places are limited and offers will be allocated on applicant’s sore only. All specified requirements must be met to a minimum of 120 credits. The scores for each of the best 8 modules are added up to give a grade points tally. Only the best 8 modules will be counted.

What courses can I apply for with my QQI-FET Award?

Trinity offers QQI-FET progression pathways in Science, Engineering, Nursing, Midwifery and the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

For more information on applying to Trinity with your FET Level 5 or 6 major award, please see the Progression Pathways to Trinity guidebook. Here you'll find detailed information about the available degree courses and any specific module requirements.

Find out more about QQI-FET in Ireland/ FAQs

For detailed information on QQI-FET courses and other Further Education and Training options, visit: This Is FET

For advice on applying to Higher Level courses with a QQI-FET award visit:

For detailed information on Higher Education Links Scheme (HELS) click here

Gráinne McInerney
Further Education and Training to Higher Education Coordinator

Contact me at

Catherine OBrien
Further Education and Training Project Officer

Contact me at

Contact Us QQI-FET Team Trinity Access Programmes Goldsmith Hall Pearse Street, Dublin 2 Email: