Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here About Us > Roles & Responsibilities

Roles and Responsibilities

Dean of Graduate Studies

The Dean of Graduate Studies is the academic officer responsible for the admission, progression and examination of all postgraduate students in College.

As chair of the Graduate Studies Committee the Dean plays a central role in the approval of new courses of postgraduate study, and in setting regulations governing the award of degrees.

Together with the Graduate Students' Union, the Dean acts as a voice representing the graduate students on various fora in College, including the University Council, Heads' of School Committee, The Deans' Committee, and the Research Committee.

The Dean is appointed by the University Council on the nomination of the Provost. The current Dean is Professor Neville Cox and he was appointed in 2016. There have been 17 Deans of Graduate Studies since the post was created in 1965.

Director of Teaching and Learning (Postgraduate)

Each School has a Director of Teaching and Learning (Postgraduate) appointed by the University Council. The Director is nominated by the Head of School for a term of two years, with the possibility of being renewed once for a second term. The Directors sit on the Graduate Studies Committee and have an important role in formulating graduate education policy for the University.

In the Schools, the Directors carry out a wide range of functions, including the formal nomination, to the Dean of Graduate Studies, of supervisors and examiners, and the organisation of transfer interviews for research students.

Graduate Studies Committee

The Graduate Studies Committee is a Committee of the University Council and acts as an advisory committee to the Dean and to the Council.

The membership of the Graduate Studies Committee is not fixed by Statute. Following the Board decision of January 2005, it includes the Directors of Teaching and Learning (Postgraduate) from the Schools in College. In addition, the committee is made up of two elected representatives from the Graduate Students' Union, the Dean of Research ( ex officio member), the Keeper of Readers' Services (ex officio member) and a representative of Information System Services. There is no substitution of members of the Graduate Studies Committee.

Depending on current or upcoming academic developments, the Dean of Graduate Studies can annually propose the addition of two non-voting members through nomination. Members of the Academic Appeals Committee for graduate students are drawn from the Graduate Studies Committee.

Main functions of the Graduate Studies Committee. (PDF 3.1 MB)