Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

Language option

Irish Language Office

Oifig na Gaeilge

History of the Irish language in Trinity College

The Irish language has had a central role in Trinity College since the time of William Bedell (sometime Provost and a former Bishop of Kilmore in the Church of Ireland), who translated the old Testament into Irish in the 17th century. Dr Douglas Hyde, founder of Conradh na Gaeilge/the Gaelic League, and first President of Ireland, was a student here. The Chair of Irish was established in 1840. Among those who occupied this role was the writer Máirtín Ó Cadhain (1969-'70). The School of Irish holds microfilm copies of the Irish Folklore Commission's Collection of Irish Folklore Manuscripts.

Some key dates

1592- Trinity College founded by Queen Elizabeth I
1627 William Bedell appointed as Provost
1840 Chair of Irish established
1908 founding of An Cumann Gaelach
1919 Tomás Ó Rathaille as Professor of Irish
1928 Eleanor Knott on the teaching staff
1956 Mairtín Ó Cadhain appointed as lecturer in Modern Irish

Source: Gaeilge i gColáiste na Tríonóide (Ó Glaisne, 1992)


Last updated 21 January 2016 by .