Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links


Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science at Trinity College, University of Dublin, is one of the top Political Science departments in Europe. It is a vibrant, outward-looking department that combines intensive research activity with the strongest commitment to high quality undergraduate and postgraduate teaching..

Read More »


  • Bertrand Russell Society Book Award for Dr Peter Stone
    Dr Peter Stone has been awarded the 2017 Bertrand Russell Society Book Award for the book 'Bertrand Russell: Public Intellectual' (Tiger Bark Press, 2016), co-edited with Dr Tim Madigan. The award is given annually for the best book in the field of Russell studies published in the preceding year.
  • Former Taoiseach John Bruton gives Annual Henry Grattan Lecture
    John Bruton gave the School of Social Sciences and Philosophy’s annual Henry Grattan lecture hosted by the Embassy of Ireland in London. The lecture titled “New Fault lines in Europe.....the political consequences of Brexit” was chaired by Head of School Professor Gail McElroy.
  • Dermot McAleese Teaching Awards Recognise Outstanding Postgraduate Educators
    Congratulations to Margaryta Klymak (Economics), Peter West (Philosophy), Liam Kneafsey (Political Science) and David Cichon (Sociology) who have been recognised for their outstanding commitment to achieving excellence in teaching and learning.

In The Spotlight

MSc in International Politics

Postgraduate Applications

Applications are now closed for our our M.Sc. in International Politics.

Applications are now closed for our PhD programme.

The new cycle of admissions for our MSc and PhD Programmes for 2018-19 will open later this year.

Last updated 17 July 2017