Front Square announcement of new Fellows

Professor Eve Patten, Director of the Trinity Long Room Hub, congratulated all the new Fellows and Scholars across the Arts and Humanities schools: “Today is a day of celebration for the Fellows and Scholars whose research excellence and academic achievement has been acknowledged and in keeping with College tradition, announced in front of peers and colleagues on Front Square.”

Professor Lindsey Earner Byrne was one of three professors elected to professorial fellowship. She is a Professor of Contemporary Irish History at the School of Histories and Humanities and has researched and published widely on modern Irish history with a particular focus on poverty, welfare, gender, sexuality, health and vulnerable and marginalised groups. Most recently she has co-authored a history of Ireland’s abortion journey with Professor Diane Urquhart of Queen’s University Belfast, The Irish Abortion Journey, 1920-2018 (Palgrave Macmillan, 2019). Her other publications include Letters of the Catholic Poor: Poverty in Independent Ireland, 1920-1940 (2017) and Mother and Child: Maternity and Child Welfare in Dublin, 1922-50 (2007). She narrated and co-authored  the documentary Forgotten: The Widows of the Irish Revolution (RTÉ One, May 2022).

The following members of staff have been elected as new Fellows from Trinity’s Arts and Humanities Schools:

  • Joanne Banks (School of Education)
  • Julie Bates (School of English)
  • Eoin McNamee (School of English)
  • Damian Murchan (School of Education)
  • Noel Ó Murchadha (School of Education)
  • Daniel Pevarello (School of Religion, Theology and Peace Studies)
  • Mark Sweetman (School of English)
  • Jürgen Uhlich (School of Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies)
  • Maria Porcedda (School of Law)

Professor Peter Gallagher (Head of Astrophysics at the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies and Director of DIAS Dunsink Observatory), Deborah Kelleher (Director of the Royal Irish Academy of Music (RIAM)), Dermot Kelleher (University of British Columbia), and Elizabeth Oldham (School of Mathematics, TCD) were elected to honorary fellowship.