Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here About > Faculty Executive

Faculty Executive Committee

Terms of Reference for the Faculty Executive can be found here (PDF document)



Faculty Dean (Chair)

Professor Brian O’Connell

Heads of the Schools in the Faculty:


School of Dental Science

Professor Blanaid Daily

School of Medicine

Professor Colin Doherty

School of Nursing & Midwifery

Dr Fintan Sheerin

School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Science

Professor John Gilmer

One representative of Research Fellows in the Faculty (elected by the cohort)

Dr Claire Healy
(split term, Sep 22 – Dec 23)

One representative of support staff in the Faculty (elected by the cohort)

Ms Mary O’Neill, School of Medicine
(second term 2022–24)

One undergraduate student representative, Faculty Convener
(nominated by the Students’ Union)


One postgraduate student representative (Health Sciences Officer)
(nominated by the Graduate Students’ Union)


In Attendance


Faculty Administrator (Secretary to the Faculty Executive)

Ms Lena Doherty

Faculty Financial Partners

Ms Emma Hagan
Ms Geraldine Joyce

Faculty HR Partner

Ms Ann-Marie Farrell

Faculty Athena SWAN Project Manager


School Administrative Managers:


School of Dental Science

Ms Aisling Thompson

School of Medicine

Mr Alex McKee

School of Nursing & Midwifery

Mr Frank O’Rourke

School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Science

Ms Helen Thornbury


Members may nominate substitutes in their absence, preferably the same person within one academic year. This must be notified to and approved by the Dean in advance. The Dean may appoint a Pro-Dean to act as Chair in his/her absence