Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search


On March 12-14, 2025

Trinity Celebrates the 220th anniversary of W. R. Hamilton and 20th anniversary of the Hamilton Mathematics Institute TCD (HMI)

hamilton institute logo tcd logo

Conference Programme 13-14 March 2025

Thursday, 13 March, 2pm - 3pm
Speaker: Maxim Kontsevich (IHES, Bures-sur-Yvette, France)

Thursday, 13 March, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Speaker: Andrei Okounkov (Columbia University, New York, USA)

Thursday, 13 March, 7pm
Public lecture: Nigel Hitchin (Oxford, UK)

Friday, March 14, 2pm - 3pm
Speaker: Cumrun Vafa (Harvard, USA)

Friday, March 14, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Speaker: Jocelyn Bell Burnell (Oxford, UK)


Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell, DBE, FRS, FRSE, FRAS, Oxford University, UK

Copley Medal of Royal Society of London (2021); Michael Faraday Prize of Royal Society of London (2010); Royal Medal (2015); Grande Medaille of the French Academy of Sciences (2018); Special Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics (2018); Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society (2021); Cunningham Medal of Royal Irish Academy (2023).


Nigel Hitchin, FRS, Oxford University, UK

Savilian Professor of Geometry Emeritus (1619), Oxford University; Sylvester Medal of the Royal Society of London (2000); London Mathematical Society Polya Prize (2002); Shaw Prize (2016).


Maxim Kontsevich (IHES, Bures-sur-Yvette, France)

AXA-IHES Chair for Mathematics, Institute des Hautes Etudes Scientifiques (IHES); Fields Medal (1998); Shaw Prize (2012); Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics (2012); Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics (2014); Henri Poincare Prize (1997); Crafoord Prize (2008).

Bio on MacTutor

Andrei Okounkov (Columbia University, New York, USA) (454KB,PDF)

Samuel Eilenberg Professor of Mathematics, Columbia University, New York; Fields Medal (2006); European Mathematical Society Prize (2004); Member of the US National Academy of Sciences (2012).

Bio on MacTutor

Cumrun Vafa (Harvard University, USA)

Hollis Professor of Mathematicks and Natural Philosophy (1727), Harvard University; Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics (2017); Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics (2016); Dirac Medal ICTP (2008); AMS Leonard Eisenbud Prize for Math and Physics (2008).


Sir Michael Atiyah, Chairman of HMI Founding Board, speaks about W. R. Hamilton at CERN (October 2006).