Deirdre Madden
Assistant Professor in Creative Writing, English


Deirdre Madden is from County Antrim. She was educated at Trinity College Dublin and at the University of East Anglia. She is a novelist who has written eight novels for adults. Her works include 'The Birds of The Innocent Wood', 'One By One in The Darkness' and 'Authenticity.' Her work has won many awards including a Hennessy Award, the Rooney Prize, the Somerset Maugham Award and the Kerry Book of the Year. She has been shortlisted twice for the prestigious Orange Prize and in She has also written three novels for children, the first of which, 'Snakes Elbows', won the Eilis Dillon Award in 2006. Her novels have been translated into several languages. In 1995 she was Writer in Residence in University College Cork and in 1997 Writer Fellow in Trinity College Dublin. She started teaching part time in Trinity in 2004 and became full time in 2007.

Publications and Further Research Outputs

Peer-Reviewed Publications

Deirdre Madden, Reading and Public Interview as part of The National Writing Academy of Writing programme, Pembroke College Cambridge, February 10th, 2015 Invited Talk, 2015

Deirdre Madden, Launch of 'All Over Ireland': panel discussion around the book, Smock Alley Theatre Dublin, 24th May , 2015, Dublin Writers' Festival Invited Talk, 2015

Deirdre Madden (Editor), All Over Ireland: New Irish Short Stories, London, Faber and Faber, 2015, 1-257pp Book, 2015

Deirdre Madden, Literature and Liberation, Beijing Bookwork Literary Festival, China, 19th March, 2014 Invited Talk, 2014

Deirdre Madden, Reading from Novel 'Time Present and Time Past', M on the Bund Literary Festival, Shanghai, China, 2014 Invited Talk, 2014

Deirdre Madden, Time Present and Time Past, New York, Europa Editions, 2014, 1-161pp Book, 2014

Deirdre Madden, Time Present and Time Past, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 2013, 1-225pp Book, 2013

Deirdre Madden, Tierparadies Emily & Co, 1st, Hamburg, Aladin, 2013, 1-221pp Book, 2013

Deirdre Madden, Time Present and Time Past (Bulgarian translation), Sofia Bulgaria, AMAT-AH, 2013, 1-147pp Book, 2013

Deirdre Madden, Jasper and the Green Marvel, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 2012, 1-194pp Book, 2012

Deirdre Madden, Snakes' Elbows, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 2012, 1-233pp Book, 2012

Snakes' Elbows (Extract) in, editor(s)John Murray (Editor In Chief) Vladimir Babkov Victor Golyshev (Russian Advising Editors) , Irish Literature In Russian Translation, Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, 2012, pp76 - 82, [Deirdre Madden] Book Chapter, 2012

Deirdre Madden, Ne Gjurme Te Vetvetes (Authenticity), Tirana , Botimet Morava, 2011, 1-267pp Book, 2011

Foreword in, Painted With Words, Dublin, Liberties Press, 2011, pp12 - 13, [Lara Marlowe] Book Chapter, 2011

Deirdre Madden, Motrat (One By One In The Darkness), Tirana, Botimet Morava, 2011, 1-212pp Book, 2011

Deirdre Madden, A Conversation With Deirdre Madden, Glocal Ireland Current Perspectives on Literature and the Visual Arts, Glocal Ireland, Alcala, Spain, 2009, edited by Marisol MoralesLadron & Juan F. Elices Aguado , Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2011, pp244 - 251 Conference Paper, 2011

Deirdre Madden, Molly Fox's Birthday, 1st USA edition, New York, Picador USA, 2010, 1-221pp Book, 2010

Deirdre Madden, Emily e gli Animali Parlanti (Italian translation of 'Thanks For Telling Me Emily'), Milan, Piemme Junior, 2010, 1-237pp Book, 2010

Deirdre Madden, When Did the World Become Coloured?, Princeton University Library Chronicle, LXXII, (I), 2010, p242 - 249 Journal Article, 2010

Deirdre Madden, Molly Fox's Birthday, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 2008, 1-221pp Book, 2008

Deirdre Madden, Thanks For telling Me Emily, 1st, London, Orchard Books, 2007, 1-239pp Book, 2007

Deirdre Madden, Authenticity, 1st, London, London, 2002, 1 - 385pp Book, 2002

Deirdre Madden, One by One in the Darkness, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 1996, 1 - 181pp Book, 1996

Deirdre Madden, Nothing is Black, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 1994, 1 - 151pp Book, 1994

Deirdre Madden, Remembering Light and Stone, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 1992, 1 - 180pp Book, 1992

Deirdre Madden, The Birds of the Innocent Wood, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 1988, 1 - 147pp Book, 1988

Deirdre Madden, Hidden Symptoms, 1st, London, Faber and Faber, 1988, 1 - 142pp Book, 1988



Judge for the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize 2014

Judge for the IMPAC Literary Award

Awards and Honours

Hennessy Award 1979

Rooney Prize for Irish Literature 1987

Somerset Maugham Award 1989

Award from the Society of Authors 1992

Fellowship at Scuol Kurhaus, Engadine, Switzerland 1993

Hawthornden Fellowship 1993

Fellowship in Atelierhaus Worpswede, Germany 1994

Kerry Book of the Year Award 1997

Eilis Dillon Award 2006

Hennessy Hall of Fame Lifetime Achievement Award 2014


Member of Aosdana 1997 – present

Elected to Folio Academy 2014 – Present