Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Menu Search



Academic/Research Staff

Below is a list of the School of Physics Academic Staff including visiting academics.

Head of School & Directors

Name Title Email Website
Prof. Igor Shvets Head of School & Professor of Applied Physics headphys@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Louise Bradley Director of Teaching & Learning (Postgraduate) & Associate Professor bradlel@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Charles H Patterson Director of Teaching & Learning (Undergraduate) & Associate Professor charles.patterson@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Martin Hegner Director of Research & Professor martin.hegner@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Peter T Gallagher Director of Global Relations & Professor peter.gallagher@tcd.ie Research Group

Academic/Research Staff

Name Title Email Website
Dr. Thomas Archer Research Fellow archert@tcd.ie Website
Prof. Werner J Blau Professor of Materials Physics wblau@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Jonathan Coleman Professor of Chemical Physics colemaj@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Graham Cross Associate Professor graham.cross@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Stephen Dooley Assistant Professor stephen.dooley@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. John F. Donegan Professor jdonegan@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Paul Eastham Assistant Professor easthamp@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Brian Espey Associate Professor espeyb@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Mauro Ferreira Associate Professor ferreirm@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. José Groh Assistant Professor grohj@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Stefan Hutzler Associate Professor shutzler@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. James Lunney Professor jlunney@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. David McCloskey Assistant Professor mccloskd@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Cormac McGuinness Assistant Professor cmcguin@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Matthias Möbius Assistant Professor mobiusm@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Arlene O'Neill Assistant Professor aroneill@tcd.ie Trinity Walton Club
Prof. David O'Regan Assistant Professor david.o.regan@tcd.ie Research Group
Dr. Ramesh Babu Padamati Senior Research Fellow ramesh.babu@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. John Pethica SFI Research Professor (Part-time)
Prof. Stefano Sanvito Professor of Condensed Matter Theory sanvitos@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Plamen Stamenov Assistant Professor stamenov.plamen@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Aline Vidotto Assistant Professor vidottoa@tcd.ie Research Group
Prof. Hongzhou Zhang Associate Professor hongzhou.zhang@tcd.ie Research Group

Adjunct, Visiting & Emeritus Staff

Name Title Email Website
Dr. Shane Bergin Adjunct Assistant Professor berginsh@tcd.ie
Dr. Robert C Barklie Fellow Emeritus rbarklie@tcd.ie
Prof. J Michael D Coey Emeritus Professor jcoey@tcd.ie Research Group
Dr. Eric C Finch Fellow Emeritus efinch@tcd.ie
Prof. C Simon Jeffery Adjunct Professor jefferyc@tcd.ie
Prof. Vojislav Krstić Adjunct Professor krsticv@tcd.ie
Dr. J McAteer Visiting Academic james.mcateer@tcd.ie
Dr. Vincent McBrierty Fellow Emeritus vincent.mcbrierty@tcd.ie
Prof. Eithne M McCabe Fellow Emeritus emccabe@tcd.ie
Prof. John F McGilp Fellow Emeritus jmcgilp@tcd.ie Research Group
Dr. Ignatius T McGovern Fellow Emeritus imcgovrn@tcd.ie
Dr. Sara M McMurry Visiting Academic smcmurry@tcd.ie
Prof. Tom Ray Robert Ball Adjunct Professor of Astrophysics tr@cp.dias.ie
Prof. Andrey Rogach Adjunct Professor andrey.rogach@physik.uni-muenchen.de
Prof. John Sader Adjunct Professor J.Sader@ms.unimelb.edu.au
Dr. Denis Weaire Fellow Emeritus denis.weaire@tcd.ie Research Group
Dr. Vincent Weldon Visiting Academic vincent.weldon@tcd.ie