Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Schrödinger at 75—The Future of Biology


Registration for this event has now closed.
Please join the waiting list at the following link and, in the event tickets become available, the organisers will contact you.
The conference will be streamed live and videos of the talks will be available online after the event. Check back here for more details on the live stream, closer to the conference.

Join Here


Wednesday 5th and Thursday 6th September, 2018
The National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace, Dublin 2, Ireland
If you have any questions about the conference or would like to get in touch with the organisers, please email


In 1943, Erwin Schrödinger, the Nobel Prize-winning physicist, then Director of Theoretical Physics at the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS), gave three public lectures entitled 'What is Life?' at Trinity College Dublin. Following their publication in 1944 as a book of the same name, these lectures had a tremendous influence on the development of molecular biology. We will mark the 75th anniversary of these lectures with an unprecedented gathering of some of the most brilliant minds working in biology today.

When Schrödinger gave his original lectures in 1943, the basis for heredity was the urgent unsolved question. Our speakers will address the current burning issues in biology—including the basis of the mind and consciousness, ageing, gene editing, synthetic biology, bioenergetics and the origin of life—and will recapture the spirit of Schrödinger’s lectures by exploring the future of biology.

read more