Trinity College Dublin

Skip to main content.

Top Level TCD Links

News and Events

Safety and Health

In accordance with making IMM a Centre of Excellence, a committee has been formed to set standards and guidelines with a view to establishing a good work environment in terms of safety and health, in line with College Safety policy. The IMM Health and Safety Committee comprises members from different research teams, with a view to establishing and implementing norms governing safety and health in the IMM as a whole. All newcomers are made aware of the IMM safety policy, and the need to respect the standards and guidelines adopted by the Institute.

The IMM Health and Safety Committee was formed in 2003 and the current membership of the Committee is as shown below:

Name Designation/Hazard Representative Email Telephone
Dr Anne Murphy Safety and Health Officer & Radiation amurphy@tcd.ie 896 3268
Dr Joe McPartlin Deputy Safety and Health Officer & Chief Fire Warden joe.mcpartlin@tcd.ie 896 3270
Dr Kathy Gately Biological k_gately@yahoo.com 896 3276
Mr Ciaran Murphy Biological cvmurphy@tcd.ie  
Dr Anthony Ryan Biological aryan12@tcd.ie 896 3273
Dr Derek Morris Biological morrisdw@tcd.ie 896 3272
Dr Siobhan Mitchell Biological siobhan.mitchell@tcd.ie 896 3266
Dr Mary O'Sullivan Biological osullim2@tcd.ie 896 3265
Dr Christine Loscher Chemical loscherc@tcd.ie 896 3293
Ms Mary Cunneen Chemical cunneenm@tcd.ie 896 3383
Dr Anthony McElligott Fire tony.mcelligott@tcd.ie 896 3276
Mr Paul Smyth Fire pasmyth@tcd.ie 896 3289
Ms Ruth Foley Genetically Modified Organisms eggarre@tcd.ie 896 3274
Dr Henry Windle Genetically Modified Organisms hjwindle@tcd.ie 896 2211
Dr Deirdre Ni Eidhin Genetically Modified Organisms dniidhin@tcd.ie 896 3259
Ms Anne Murphy Management Team 896 3295

Documents:

IMM Emergency Book - The book outlines emergency response procedures for Fire, Chemical, Biological, Physical, Radiological and Intruder Hazards.

Model Departmental Safety Statement - From Trinity Buildings Office.

Trinity College Safety, Health & Welfare - http://www.tcd.ie/Buildings/Safety/index.html

Related links:

All links open in a new browser window.

Health and Safety Authority

Ireland's National Safety Council

Ireland's Environmental Protection Agency

Health and Safety Review

National Irish Safety Organisation (NISO)

National Standards Authority of Ireland

Radiological Protection Institute of Ireland

IOSH - Ireland Branch

Irish Water Safety

The Women's Health Council

National Disease Surveillance Centre

Personal Injuries Assessment Board

 

Archived News


Last updated 25 July 2011 by IMM web administrator (Email).