

Minutes of the Capitation Committee 14 March 2022 At 4.00pm via Zoom

Present: Chair – Prof Eoin O'Sullivan, Secretary – Aidan Marsh, FSD – Elaine Sharkey, Student Life – Catherine McCabe, DUCAC – Matthew Simons; DUCAC - Anna Grace Ulses; DUCAC – Aoife Sim; CSC – Ben McConkey; CSC – Ronan Hodson; CSC – Vince Casey; CSC – Claire Stafford; SU – Leah Keogh; SU – Bev Genockey; SU – Sierra Mueller Owens;

Apologies: DUCAC – Aidan Kavanagh; SU – Simon Evans; GSU (In Attendance) – Sarah Alyn-Stacey; Publications – Grace Gageby

In Attendance: CSC – Joseph O'Gorman; CSC – Lucy O'Connell;

Professor Eoin O'Sullivan as Chair of the Capitation Committee opened the meeting.

The Senior Dean presented to the Capitation Committee the GSU's appeal to the Visitor of the decision taken by the Capitation Committee at the meeting of 14th October. The Dean highlighted that a response was due by Friday 8th April, but that as there were a number groups mentioned in the appeal, including the previous GSU Board, and the previous Senior Dean Prof. John Parnell, and given that any response of the Capitation Committee would need to be approved by the Committee as a whole, an extension to the deadline would be requested.

The Senior Dean recommended to the Committee that each relevant Capitated Body appoint a representative to work with the Dean on formulating a response which, on completion, would be presented to the Committee for final approval.

A query was raised with regards to the Committee's recognition of the GSU's executive, however it was decided that this would be better suited to be raised at a future meeting. *Discussion of recognition of GSU to be placed on the agenda for the next meeting of the Capitation Committee.*

It was noted that the next meeting of the Capitation Committee, originally scheduled to take place on 24th March, would be moved to 31st March