EU Erasmus Exchange Programme

School of Psychology Erasmus Coordinator: Dr. Elizabeth Nixon (, Room 1.22, Aras an Phiarsaigh

The Erasmus Programme is a European Commission programme which enables and encourages students across Europe to study at another university as part of their university degree programme. Students may apply to study for one or more terms However, students usually go for a full academic year.

The School of Psychology currently has Erasmus exchange agreements with the following Universities:

Belgium KU Leuven
France University of Paris Cite
Germany Freie Universitat Berlin
Netherlands University of Groningen
Erasmus University Rotterdam
Radbound University
Universiteit Utrecht
Austria University of Salzburg
U.K. University of Exeter
University of Edinburgh
Sweden Stockholm University
Spain Universitat de Barcelona

It may be possible to study Psychology at other universities where Trinity has a formal exchange agreement coordinated by one of the other Departments/Schools in the College. In such instances the intending student will need to obtain the host university Psychology prospectus so that the School's Erasmus Coordinator can ascertain the appropriateness of available courses.

How to Apply

Please contact the School Erasmus Coordinator, Dr. Elizabet Nixon ( in the first instance if you are interested in participating in an Erasmus exchange. Applications need to be submitted to the College International Office ( in the Hilary Term preceding the academic year in which you would like to study abroad.

Further information about how to apply and the deadline for applications is available on the College International Office website here.

Eligibility and Academic Requirements

The Erasmus Programme is open to all registered students of Trinity College, who are nationals of the EU member states, the European Economic Area countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway), or the candidate country, Turkey. All undergraduate students are eligible to participate, but must have completed at least one year of their undergraduate programme. Where the language of tuition at the host institution is not English, you will of course need some local language knowledge.

Both Single Honor and TSM Psychology students are permitted to participate in an Erasmus exchange.

Single Honor Psychology students participating in a full-year Erasmus exchange are required to complete modules in psychology equivalent to at least 45 ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) credits. Students may wish to take additional modules up to a maximum of 60 ECTS which could include modules in psychology or, for example, language skills. The School's Erasmus Coordinator must approve the particular package of modules to be taken by students at the host University. The credit requirement will be reduced for students going abroad for less than one academic year.

TSM students need permission from both of their Departments/Schools to participate in an exchange. The modules and minimum number of ECTS credits required for TSM students should be discussed with the School's Erasmus Coordinator in the first instance. However, TSM regulations require that TSM students should have a minimum of 20 ECTS for each TSM subject, with a minimum number of 45 ECTS credits overall.

Except for TSM students whose other subject may require a period of study abroad during the Senior Freshman year, the School of Psychology normally permits students to study abroad during their Junior Sophister (3rd) year only.