Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Appointment Process

Appointment Process

(See Appendix 1: Time-table for the appointment process and Appendix 2: Statute on the Provost)

The appointment of the Provost was carried out in accordance with the provisions of the Universities Act 1997 and the University’s Statutes. The appointment process was overseen by a Steering Committee, chaired by the University’s Registrar, Professor Brendan Tangney.

In summary, the appointment process comprised:

  1. an interview of all applicants, who had complied in all respects with the conditions outlined in section 6 (below);
  2. a nomination process;
  3. an election campaign;
  4. an election to decide from among validly nominated candidates;
  5. appointment by the Board.

5.1 The Interview

(14 December 2020– 13 January 2021)

Interviews were carried out on 7th and 8th January 2021. The application process was confidential with applications being submitted to the Chairperson of the Steering Committee. Applicants who made a valid application were interviewed by the Interview Committee, the membership of which comprised the following Trinity Board members:
Professor Rose Anne Kenny; Professor Khurshid Ahmad; Professor Caitriona Leahy;
Mr Eoin Hand (Student Union President);
Professor Andrea Nolan, Vice-Chancellor of Edinburgh Napier University.

The Interview Committee:

  1. facilitated applicants in understanding the office of Provost;
  2. verified the curriculum vitae of applicants;
  3. arranged for the applicants to make presentations to the Interview Committee;
  4. interviewed the applicants;
  5. identified those applicants for whom there is not a prima facie case for proceeding to election;
  6. sent to the Steering Committee the names of those going forward as candidates for election.

Reasonable vouched expenses incurred by applicants invited to attend an interview in person, on campus, could be reimbursed by the University.

5.2 The Nomination Process

(Dispatch of Nomination Forms: 14 January 2021) (Nominations closed: 12 noon, 5 February 2021)

Candidates whose names were provided to the Steering Committee as eligible candidates received a nomination paper from the Chairperson of the Steering Committee. Candidates wishing to participate in the election process submitted a nomination paper to the Chairperson of the Steering Committee, signed by twelve members of the electorate, by the closing date - 12 noon on 5 February 2021.

Ambassadors could be nominated from among the Fellows to assist external candidates in securing possible nominators.

5.3 The Election Campaign

(Campaign period: 5 February - 7 April 2021)

The official campaign period for candidates seeking election commenced after all nominations had been received and published on 5 February 2021, and concluded on 7 April 2021. This provided the opportunity for candidates to meet and address members of the electorate in various settings and in one-to-one meetings.

The Steering Committee facilitated collective meetings among the Trinity community for candidates during this campaign period, held either in person or on-line as was appropriate. The Steering Committee also endeavoured to provide individual candidates with the information necessary to run their campaigns and facilitated the distribution of election material to the electorate.

5.4 The Election

(Saturday 10 April 2021)

Please click here to see information on the Election Arrangements.

5.5 Appointment by the Board

(Board meeting: 21 April 2021)

Immediately after the election of a candidate, the Chairperson of the Steering Committee without delay informed the Board of the name of the candidate. At a Board meeting held on 21 April 2021, the Board appointed as Provost the candidate who had been declared the choice of the College (Professor Linda Doyle).

A report to the HEA on Gender Equality aspects of the Provost Appointment process was also approved by the Board on 21 April 2021.

The Provost will take up office on 1 August 2021.