Group Members

Principal Investigator

Head of GroupE-mailPhone no.
Prof. Jonathan Coleman 00 353 (1) 896 3859

Postdoctorate Research Fellows

Postdoctorate Research FellowsE-mailPhone no.
Dr Althaf Mohamed 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr Kevin Synnatschke 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr Jose Munuera 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr Bharathi Konkena 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr Harneet Kaur 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Adam Kelly 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr. Tian Carey 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr Daniel O’Driscoll 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dr Cian Gabbett 00 353 (1) 896 2039


Postgraduate Students

Postgraduate StudentsE-mailPhone no.
Oran Cassidy 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Emmet Coleman 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Jack Maughan 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Luke Doolan 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Eoin Caffrey 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Dominik Horvath 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Mark McCrystall 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Shixin Liu 00 353 (1) 896 2039
James Garcia 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Domhnall O'Suilleabhain 00 353 (1) 896 2039
Yashaswi Nalawade 00 353 (1) 896 2039

NameThesis Title
Aideen Griffin Spectroscopic and Microscopic Characterisation of Liquid Phase Exfoliated 2D Materials
Daniel O’Driscoll Viscoelastic Polymer Nanocomposite Materials for Sensing Applications
Cian Gabbett Electrical, Mechanical and Morphological Characterization of Nanosheet Networks
Dr. John Boland Liquid Phase Exfoliation of 2D Materials under Ambient Conditions
Dr. Sonia Biccai Exfoliation And Sensing Application Of 2d Materials.
Dr. Beata Syzslowska Size selection and Monolayer Enrichment in Liquid-Exfoliated Tungsten Disulphide Dispersions
Dr. David McAteer Nanostructured Electrodes as Catalysts for the Water Splitting Reaction
Dr. Adam Kelly Printed Electronics from Solution-Processed 2D Materials
Dr. Ivan Caffery Inferring the Surface Energy Distribution of Low Dimensional Materials
Dr. Andrew Harvey Liquid-Phase Exfoliation and Characterisation of Novel Layered Materials
Peter Lynch Nanostructured Electrochemically Active Electrodes for Applications in Energy Generation and Storage Devices
Sebastian Barwich A Study of Liquid Phase Exfoliation and Properties of 2D Nanomaterials
Damien Hanlon Liquid Phase Exfoliation of Novel 2D Nanomaterials
Conor Boland Multifaceted Sensors Based on Conductive Nanocomposites
Tom Higgins Electrochemical Energy Storage Properties of Solution-Processed Nanomaterial Networks
Graeme Cunningham Solution Processed Group VI Transition Metal Dichalcogenides A Study on Conductive Hybrids and Photoconductivity for Future Applications in Printed Electronics
Rónán Smith Liquid Phase Exfoliation and Dispersion of Two Dimensional Materials
Peter May Nanoscale Effects Governing Mechanical Reinforcement in Composite Materials
Sophie Sorel

Study of the Properties of Networks of Low-Dimensional Nanomaterials for Transparent Flexible Device Applications

Paul King Percolation effects in nanostructured thin films
Marguerite Hughes

Factors Controlling the Dispersion of Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes and Hexabenzocoronene in Liquid Media

Mustafa Lotya Exfoliation and Dispersion of Layered Materials Through Liquid Phase Processing
Karen Young

Preparation and Characterisation of Carbon Nanotube Composites

David Rickard

Photoluminescence studies of Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes

Phil Lyons

Flexible thin films for electronic applications

Umar Khan

Mechanical and morphological properties of polymer-nanotube composites

Yenny Hernandez

High yield exfoliation of graphene

Ian O’Connor

Post production treatment of commercial fibres

Fiona Blighe

Preparation and characterisation of carbon nanotube films and composites

Helen Cathcart

Understanding DNA dispersed single-walled carbon nanotube systems

Shane Bergin

Dispersions and Solutions of Single Walled Carbon Nanotubes

David Blond

Mechanical properties of biopolymers reinforced with carbon nanotubes

Denis Mc Carthy

Inorganic nanowire based composites

Dr Erxiong Ding  
Dr. Ruiyuan Tian  
Tingting Chen  
Dr. Andrew Harvey  
Dr. Zheng Ling  
Dr. Conor Boland  
Dr. Victor Vega  
Dr. Sajad Esmaeily    
Dr. Ian Godwin  
Dr. Claudia Backes
Dr. Zahra Gholamvand  
Dr. Xiaoyun He  
Dr. Eswaraiah Varrla
Dr. Shabo Xie
Dr Oana Istrate  
Dr Rónán Smith
Dr Peter May
Dr Sophie Sorel
Dr Paul King
Dr Mustafa Lotya
Dr Phil Lyons
Dr Marguerite Hughes
Dr Sukanta De
Dr. Karen Young
Dr. Fiona Blighe
Dr. David Rickard
Dr. Toby Sainsbury
Dr Damien Aherne  
William Morton
Dr Shane Bergin  
Dr Helen Cathcart  
Dr Yenny Hernandez  
Dr Zhenyu Sun  
Dr Valeria Nicolosi