University Football Teams Battle it out for the Collingwood Cup 2011

A strong UCC team held off tough competition from NUIG to win 1-0 with a goal in extra time in the final of the 2011 Collingwood Cup to win the trophy as this year’s winners.  The Collingwood Cup is the main football competition between Irish universities and was recently hosted by Trinity College.  The event saw 13 teams from universities in both the Republic and Northern Ireland compete over four days for the 91st Collingwood Cup title.

The Trinity College team were also victorious on the final day of the competition when they defeated DCU with a 1-0 win to take home the Farquhar Cup.  The winning goal came early in the match which was held in College Park and heavily supported on the day by fellow TCD students. 

TCD team win Farquhar Cup.

The Collingwood Cup was established by Professor Bertram Collingwood, one time Professor of Mathematics at UCD, in 1914.  It has been played annually since apart from the First World War years (1915-1919) and during 1933/34 due to a dispute between the Irish Football Association and the Football Association in Ireland.  The competition is run by the Irish Universities Football Union which is part of the Colleges and Universities Sports Association and sponsored by Dublin Bus.