Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Psychiatry > Research > Depression Neurobiology Research Group > Research Group and Further Information

Our Research Group & Further Information


Our Group
Claire Slattery, Julie Ahern, Dr. Karen Ryan, Dr. Enda Shanahan, Meabh Foley, Prof. Declan McLoughlin, Claire McGrory, Gabriele Gusciute, Dr. Bronagh Gallagher.

Useful Links & Tips to Healthy Brain


The Reseach Group

The group is led by Prof Declan McLoughlin, Research Professor of Psychiatry.
We are based in the Dept of Psychiatry and the Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience (TCIN). Established in 2007, we are a multidisciplinary team of clinicians, post-doctoral research fellows, and post graduate students. Our work encompasses clinical assessment, neuropsychology, randomised controlled trials, biochemistry and molecular biology.

Our recent publications are available here.


Current Members




Prof. Declan McLoughlin

Professor of Psychiatry

Dr. Enda Shanahan

Research Anaesthetist

Dr. Karen Ryan PhD

HRB Postdoctoral Scientist

Dr. Bronagh Gallagher Senior Registrar 
Dr. Martha Finnegan Research Registrar / PhD Student

Claire Slattery

Research Assistant

Meabh Foley Research Assistant

Claire McGrory

Research Assistant

Louise Donnelly

Research Nurse

Gabriele Gusciute

Research Assistant



A comprehensive list of our publications is available here .

Recent Media Coverage


Contact Us

Dept of Psychiatry
Trinity College Dublin
St Patrick's University Hospital
James's Street
Dublin 8
T: +353 1 2493385