

SCSS EDI Committee Newsletter

22 November 2021

Welcome to the first newsletter from the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) committee of the School of Computer Science and Statistics (SCSS). We hope to have a space on the SCSS website very soon where we will place these newsletters and other EDI related resources and links.

As you may know the school was awarded Athena SWAN Bronze; the formal award ceremony was online on 20th October. (You can see the award in the photo above.) The Athena SWAN (Scientific Women's Academic Network) Charter is the internationally recognised quality mark for gender equality in universities/colleges. The award demonstrates that the school has strong evidence-informed plans to address barriers to gender equity and develop inclusive culture and practices.

The Athena SWAN self-assessment team has, as promised, become the school's Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) committee. The committee will be working to implement our Athena SWAN action plan and prepare us for an application for a Silver award in 2024. We will also be broadening out to address issues beyond gender equality. Making the school a more equal, diverse and inclusive workplace, for staff and students, is important for reasons of fairness and justice, but also because more diverse, equal and inclusive organisations are also more successful. The EDI committee's current membership is listed below. Our Terms of Reference are available on our website.

We have formed 4 working groups to progress different aspects of the Athena SWAN action plan and the broader EDI agenda. These working groups are described a little further down.

The committee ran an academic promotions and fellowship workshop on Monday 28th June 2021 for academic staff within the school. Organised by Professor Siobhán Clarke, the session had Fidelma Haffey and Vinny Cahill speak about the promotions and fellowship processes in Trinity, followed by recent successful applicants, Rachel Mc Donnell (Fellow and Associate Professor), Marco Ruffini (Fellow and Associate Professor), Owen Conlan (Fellow

and Professor in) and Declan O'Sullivan (Fellow and Professor in). The workshop concluded with a Q&A.

We recommend that all SCSS staff undertake College training on EDI and unconscious bias **training**. There are multiple online training options. See https://www.tcd.ie/equality/training/lead-online-training/

Finally for now, we have set up a new online anonymous **suggestion box**. https://freesuggestionbox.com/pub/tjnupit Use it to draw our attention to issues of EDI in SCSS and to make suggestions for how the school might address EDI. (Don't use this suggestion box to mention specific people or incidents; for specific complaints follow the TCD Dignity & Respect Policy.)

Staff WG: This working group is concerned with equality and diversity in recruitment of academic and professional staff, and with ensuring equality in career development and progression in SCSS. Led by Siobhán Clarke.

Workplace WG: The Workplace group is concerned with ensuring an inclusive, non-discriminatory, flexible, supportive workplace and experience for all who work for SCSS. Led by Ivana Dusparic.

Research Staff WG: This group is concerned with ensuring equality and promoting diversity in intake / recruitment and career planning for PhD students and research staff, and ensuring an inclusive, non-discriminatory, flexible, supportive research environment and experience for all who research in SCSS. Where issues for research staff also affect academic and professional staff, these will fall to the Workplace WG. The Research Staff WG is led by Yvette Graham.

Students WG: The Students group is addressing equality and diversity in taught student intake and progression and ensuring an inclusive, non-discriminatory, flexible, supportive study environment and experience for all who study in SCSS (UG and PGT). Led by David Gregg.

SCSS EDI Committee Membership:

Chair Vincent Wade
Deputy-Chair (AS Champion) Lucy Hederman

Academic Staff Members Siobhán Clarke, David Gregg, Ivana Dusparic, Yvette

Graham

Technical Staff Member Ronan Healy Systems Support Staff member vacant

Administrative Staff Members Aaron O Hara, Stephen Carroll, Alex Irwin

Postdoctoral Research Fellow Kris McGlinn

PG Research Students Cathy Roche, Jacinta Jardine

PG Taught Student Sherin Cherian

UG Students Isabel Moulton, Dishant Tekwani