SUBSCRIBENOW

Hard work pays off as Trinity names a record 85 scholars

① Tue, Apr 12, 2011, 01:00

Luke Cassidy

SCREAMS OF delight and rounds of applause rang out in Trinity College Dublin's front square as provost Dr John Hegart named this year's scholars and fellows in front of a crowd of students, family members and well-wishers.

The annual ceremony which marks the beginning of Trinity Week is almost as old as the college itself and yesterday's even saw a record 85 new scholars, 15 fellows and four honorary fellows named.

•••

In his final year as provost, Dr Hegarty asked the crowd of about 300, many dressed in colourful academic gowns, to hold back the applause until he had read all the names in each category.

While most obeyed, some whooped and cheered unable to contain their excitement as bemused tourists looked on.

Ryan Kenny a scholar in philosophy, political science, economics and sociology described his award as a "massive shock".

"It's a huge honour, there's a massive tradition associated with it . . . but there's a tremendous amount of work that goes in."

Mr Kenny said he had to miss out on family celebrations on Christmas Eve to study for the exams but that it had paid off it the end.

Another student Lynsey Hannah Callaghan also admitted to studying on Christmas Day.

"I had myself convinced I didn't get it because I really believed I didn't, so I dyed my hair red," a shocked and excited Ms Callaghan said after being elected a scholar in music education.

Scholars are elected for showing "exceptional knowledge and understanding" of their subjects and are chosen on the basis of exam results from the Hillary term.

Lecturer Marita Kerin said she was "very proud" of Ms Callaghan who is hoping to go to Hungary next year to continue he studies.

The benefits of being elected a scholar include having course fees waived, being able to take rooms on campus and free meals in the college's commons.

ADVERTISEMENT

Fellowships are awarded for research achievement or scholarship of a "high order" as well as contribution to academic life

and teaching record.

These appointees submitted their work for external review as part of the process.

Recently appointed professors are automatically awarded a fellowship because their research profile is already considered to be of a very high standard.

Playwright Thomas Kilroy received one of four honorary fellowships for his key role in "shaping" Irish theatre.

Mr Kilroy was joined by historian Prof John Morrill, Prof John Nolan – a leading researcher in the field of diabetes – and Prof John Pethica, an expert in nanomechanics.

Prof Morrill said he was "very proud" to receive the award and it will give him even more reasons to visit the country.

The new scholars will be sworn in during a ceremony in the Provost's Library this morning.

TRINITY COLLEGE DUBLIN NEW FELLOWS AND SCHOLARS

Fellows:

Engineering: Dr Linda Doyle; Engineering: Dr Tatiana Perova; English: Dr Crawford Gribben; Genetics Microbiology: Dr Mario Fares; Histories Humanities: Dr Micheál Ó Siochrú; Law: Dr Catherine Donnelly; Medicine: Dr Juliette Hussey; Membrane Structural Functional Biology: Prof Martin Caffrey; Natural Sciences: Dr Jane Stout; Nursing Midwifery: Prof Mary McCarron; Pharmacy Pharmaceutical Sciences: Dr Andrew Harkin; Pharmacy Pharmaceutical Sciences: Prof Mary Meegan; Physics: Dr Eric Finch; Physics: Prof Martin Hegner; Social Sciences Philosophy: Dr Gail McElroy.

Honorary fellowship:

Thomas Kilroy, the playwright has played a key role in shaping Irish theatre; Prof John Morrill, historian and the founding editor of the Royal Historical Society Bibliography Online; Prof John Nolan, chief executive and head of the world renowned Steno Diabetes Centre in Denmark; Prof John Pethica, member of staff at TCD based in the CRANN Institute.

Scholars:

Chemistry with molecular modelling: Douglas James Temple; children's and general nursing (BSc): Shauna Delaney; computer science, linguistics and a language: Stephen David Shaw; dental science: Andrew Charles Bartram, Ronan O'Leary; earth sciences: Gina Kelly, Daniel Quinn; economic and social studies: Lorcan George Clarke; Clare Dunne; Gavi Gilhawley; Tom Kelly; Emmet Kiberd; Tony O'Connor; Andrew Winterbotham; Engineering: Ian Beatty-Orr, Gary Blackburn, Oisín Brogan, Mark William Culleton, Michael Francis Cullinan, Ronan Fahey, Michael Gibbons, Kevin Haughan, Andrew Donald McKay, Anish Raghavan, Ciarán Tuohy; English studies: Natasha Claire Calder, Sally Rooney; European studies: Louisa Heneghan, Rebecca Smyth; History and political science: Neil Warner; Irish studies: Caitlin Emira Saoirse Nic Iomhair; Law: Michael Judge, Colm Kelly, Matthew Langton; Law and business: Jennifer Duffy; Law and French: Ferenc Jari; Law and political science: Nicola Griffin; Mathematics: Colman Humphrey, Jack Kelly; Medicine (5-year): Jasdeep Badwal, Niall Cosgrave, Renuka Rasmani Durganaudu, Eric Hirsch, Conor Lavelle, Andrew Graham Lockhart, Ian John McGurgan, Conor John O'Donovan, Clare Quigley, Liam Townsend; Midwifery (B.Sc.): Sophie Carolyi Clare; Music: Cormac Bennett, Alex Louis Ryan; Music education (B.Ed.): Lynsey Hannah Callaghan; Natural sciences: Oana Maria Deac, Francis Samuel Duffy, Rebecca Feeney-Barry, Aoibheann Gaughran, Daragh Mullarkey, Andrea Waitz, Robert James Walsh, Glyn Williams; Nursing (B.Sc.): Laura Holly, Catherina Bernadette Long, Niamh Rosemary Murphy Occupational therapy: Margaret Eleanor Dee; Pharmacy: Brian John McNamara, Juliette Anne O'Connell; Philosophy, political science, economics sociology: Ryan Kenny, Cara Maria Sanquest; Physiotherapy: Adam McDermott; Psychology: Eric Anthony Lacey, Stephen Landers; Social studies: Julie O'Shea' Sociology and social policy: Gillian Smith; Theoretical physics: Gavin Cheung, David-Alexander Robinson.

Two subject moderatorship

Modern Irish and Religions and Theology: Rachael Atkinson; Economics and Psychology: Debbie Blair; Modern Irish and Music: Eleanor Mai Jones-McAuley; History and Latin A: Charlie Kerrigan; Philosophy and Psychology: Orla McCallion; English and History of Art and Architecture: David Luke Naessens; German and Modern Irish: Deirdre Ní Cheallacháin; Modern Irish and Spanish: Eoghan Pádraig Ó Ceannabhain; English and Music: Eoghan Quinn.