Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Congratulations to 2019-2020 ME3B8 Universal Design Innovation Students in the Department of Mechanical, Manufacturing and Biomedical Engineering for winning this year's Smarter Travel Campus Awards organized by the National Transport Authority.

Cian Kellet, Eoin Burke, Damien Deasy & Adhriaj Sood won the Engineering & Innovation - Technology category with their entry Smart which is an autonomous ramp to provide wheelchair users independent access to rail transportation such as the DART. The project was sponsored by the Department and by ARUP Engineering.

Smarter Travel Campus Award
Engineering & Innovation - Technology Category Award

Five other 3B8 groups were finalists in their categories:

Engineering & Innovation - Design
Aislinn Dunleavy, Ed O'Sullivan, Stefan Radu Cristea & Erica Markey - Boost
Seán Daly, Alex O'Boyle, Aaron Heery, Abhiraj Singh & Aodhán Buggy - bEYEcycle
Jakub Pyszka - SmartView

Engineering & Innovation - Social Innovation & Entrepreneurship
Eimear O'Connor, Conor Kirwan, Leo Devlin & Matthew Burke - Signal

Engineering & Innovation - Technology
Liam Lysaght, Isobel Duffy & Colin O'Sullivan - VolkrEYE

Module coordinator Assoc. Prof. Gareth Bennett said "This is a fantastic result from the students this year to have won the award against such stiff competition. The technical sophistication of the design solutions from all the Trinity finalists was extremely impressive, even more so given the obstacles presented by COVID".