Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

Congratulations to MME PhD graduate Dr. David Donoghue for being awarded the

2016 EUROTHERM Young Scientist Prize

by the EUROTHERM Committee in Krakow, Poland on 20 June 2016.

17th Sir Bernard Crossland Symposium - 1st Place

The EUROTHERM Committee ( was formed in Brussels in 1986, with the aim of promoting and fostering European cooperation in Thermal Sciences and Heat Transfer by gathering together scientists and engineers working in specialised areas.

Every four years EUROTHERM presents the EUROTHERM Young Scientist Prize and two Awards to researchers on the basis of their doctoral research in thermal sciences. The prize winners are proposed by the EUROTHERM Prize Committee, consisting of Eurotherm committee members, on the basis of the scientific level of the PhD thesis, the originality and generality of the work, the importance of the results for thermal sciences, and the suitability of the modelling and/or of the experimental methods for thermal sciences. Candidates are nominated by national bodies or committees, with up to two candidates from each country represented within the EUROTHERM Committee. The Prize and Awards are presented to stimulate young scientists towards research work in the field of thermal sciences.

The 2016 EUROTHERM Young Scientist Prize and Awards were presented at the 7th European Thermal Sciences Conference (EUROTHERM 2016) held in Krakow, Poland, 19-23 June 2016.

Congratulations to the winners:

  • Eurotherm Prize 2016: David Donoghue, Ireland
    Bubble Impingement and the Mechanisms of Heat Transfer Enhancement.
  • Eurotherm Award 2016: Andrea Diani, Italy
    Experimental and Numerical Analysis of Microstructured Surfaces.
  • Eurotherm Award 2016: Monica Delgado, Spain
    Analysis of Microencapsulated Phase Change Material Slurries and Phase Change Material Emulsions as Heat Transfer Fluid and Thermal Storage Material.