IT Services Alerts - MyZone: Changes to Google Calendar Sharing, August 16th
First posted: Wednesday 15th August, 12:17
To improve data security for students and other users of MyZone we will be making changes to Google calendar sharing settings. Currently, Google's default settings allow all MyZone users a full view of an individuals calendar, allowing all students to see all parts of your calendar.
We are changing this on Thursday 16th August, setting the default view for MyZone users to "free/busy only". This means other MyZone users will be able to see your calendar, but only that you are not available, no other details will be visible by default.
Of course, if you wish to change your individual settings to share more details in your calendar with particular students you may do so. More information and step by steps are available here: https://support.google.com/calendar/answer/37082?hl=en
What will happen after Thursday 16th August?
Once we change the settings the following groups will be affected:
- New Student Accounts – Only Free/Busy information shared by default (you may choose to share full details with selected students if you wish, see above link)
- Continuing Student Accounts with no changes to default sharing settings – Only Free/Busy information shared by default (you may choose to share full details with selected students if you wish, see above link)
- Continuing Student Accounts where they have changed default sharing permissions already - we cannot change your default settings, you will need to change your default settings yourself so Free/Busy will apply and you can continue sharing full details with only selected students as you wish.