Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here Disciplines > Drama > About


Founded in 1984, the Department of Drama was the first university department in Ireland to offer degree courses in drama and theatre. More than thirty years on, the department continues to lead the way in teaching and research excellence and has produced many of the leading figures in Ireland's theatre, film and television industries, from playwrights, actors, directors, designers, to producers, teachers and even professors! Many of the department's alumni are in leading positions within the creative arts, are at the cutting edge of artistic practice, and are innovators of highly successful production companies. The department's lecturers and professors are all research active with international reputations in their respective specialisms, and all teach across our undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. The department produces performances that are open to the public, hosts professional theatre companies from all over the world, and strives to bridge the gap between education and industry, through outreach, placement and social engagement.

The Department of Drama is housed in the purpose-built Samuel Beckett Centre which opened in 1992. Within the Centre is the Samuel Beckett Theatre, an exceptional teaching and performance space.

The location of Trinity College in the heart of Dublin permits students to experience a wide range of contemporary theatre practices. Professional practitioners regularly visit the Department to discuss their work and give workshops or courses. Recent and current visiting practitioners, teachers and Companies include Olwen Fouéré, Anne Clark, Marina Carr, Elaine Aston, Annie Ryan, Michael West & Corn Exchange, Emmet Kirwan, Lian Bell, Sarah Jane Scaife, Maree Kearns, Sinead Cuthbert, Grace Dyas, Graham Whybrow, Gavin Kostick, Jim Culleton, Lynne Parker, Cian O'Brien, Bisi Adigun, Noeline Kavanagh, Sinead Wallace, Willie White & Dublin Theatre Festival, Owen Boss, Louise Lowe and ANU, Ciara O'Callaghan, Andrea Ainsworth, Gary Keegan, Oonagh Murphy, Maeve Stone, Wayne Jordan, Emma Martin Dance, Pan Pan and Sugarglass Theatre Company.