# The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Research Committee on Tuesday 8<sup>th</sup> June 2010 at 14.00 in the Dunlop House Seminar Room, 1<sup>st</sup> Floor.

#### AGENDA

| ^                                       |    |           |     |
|---|----|-----------|-----|
| Sec                                     | tı | nn        | Λ   |
| .,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, |    | <b>\/</b> | . ^ |

Minutes A.1 Meeting of 4<sup>th</sup> May 2010 (encl) A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes A.3 Research Area in the Library Verbal report by Prof. David Dickson, School of H&H, and Trevor Peare, TCD Library A.4 **Review of Research Centres** Update from the Associate Dean of Research **A.5** Dean of Research Annual Report Draft report (encl) Contract Academic Staff and Research Funding Proposals A.6 (encl) Briefing note on sponsors from Doris Alexander, TR&I A.7 **US Dept of Defence Funding for Non-Military Purposes** Updated note from Doris Alexander, TR&I (encl) **8.A** Sustainability, governance and funding of Trinity Research Institutes A.9 External communication of Research Paper from Communications Office to follow **Publications - Open Access Policy** A.10 **Draft Publications Policy** (encl) A.11 **Any Other Business** Section B B.1 Amendment to the current Indirect Cost Policy Memo from OIP Planning Group (encl) B.2 **Review of Quality Review Process for Schools** Report from the Working Group on School Reviews (encl) B.3 Adoption of College Principles for Industrial Engagement

Memo from Dean of Research

**Any Other Business** 

B.4

(encl)

### Section C

C.1 Name change: Centre for Telecommunications Value-chain Research (CTVR)

Memo from Prof. Linda Doyle, Director - CTVR

(encl)

C.2 Newly approved campus companies

Memo from ADTRI

(encl)

- C.3 Items for Discussion at Future Meetings
  - (i) governance structures to support innovation
  - (ii) review of Good Research Practice policy (as per BD/09-10/51) Oct 2010
  - (iii) annual review of Research Committee and its terms of reference
- C.4 Any Other Business

1<sup>st</sup> June 2010

Dr J Callaghan Secretary to Committee

# RS-June10Agenda

# Membership 2009-10

Vice-Provost/Chief Academic Officer (Chair)

Dean of Research (Deputy Chair)

Dean of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Dean of Engineering, Mathematics & Science

Dean of Health Sciences

Director (or Associate Director) of Trinity Research & Innovation

Dean of Graduate Studies

Professor James Wickham

Professor Paul Holm

Faculty of Health Science representative

Professor Linda Doyle

Professor John Boland

Academic Secretary

Professor Shane Allwright

President, Graduate Students' Union

Chair, Trinity Research Staff Association

#### In attendance:

Ms Doris Alexander

Ms Deirdre Savage

Dr Camilla Kelly (Minute Secretary to the Committee)