

## Minutes of Board Meeting Monday 20 April 2020 Trinity Monday

# This meeting was conducted remotely using the Zoom application and was hosted in the Provost's Library

- PresentProvost (Dr P J Prendergast), Vice-Provost/Chief Academic Officer (Professor J Barkhoff), Senior<br/>Lecturer/Dean of Undergraduate Studies (Professor K Mitchell), Registrar (Professor P Murphy),<br/>Bursar/Director of Strategic Innovation (Professor V Campbell), Professor D Ahern, Professor S<br/>Alyn Stacey, Ms L Beston, Professor L Brennan, Professor A Burke, Mr K Byrne, Ms J Donoghue,<br/>Professor D Faas, Ms S Farrell, Dr D Fayne, Mr D Grouse, Ms A Leen, Ms N McCay, Professor K<br/>McTiernan, Professor R Moss, Professor B O'Connell, Professor E O'Halpin, Ms S Oye, Professor<br/>D R Phelan, Professor A Seery, Professor F Sheerin.
- Apologies There were no apologies.
- In attendance Assistant Secretary to the College (Ms V Butler).
- (ex officio) Secretary to the College (Mr J Coman), Treasurer/Chief Financial Officer (Mr P Reynolds).
- (by invitation) Chief Operating Officer (Ms G Ruane), Vice-President for Global Relations (Professor J Hussey).

#### BD/19-20/203 Declarations

#### (i) New Board Member Declaration

At the invitation of the Provost, Mr Byrne made the declaration in the language of his choice.

#### (ii) Statutory Declaration

Those members present made the required statutory declaration.

#### BD/19-20/204 Statements of Interest

The Secretary to the College advised that he had received a statement of potential conflict of interest from the Provost in relation to agenda item 1(v) Assent to New Scholars. The Provost's niece Jessica Prendergast, Nursing, was on the roll for election as a new Scholar. He had discussed the matter with the Provost and he proposed to the Board, with the agreement of the Provost, that the Provost would remain present in the Board meeting for the consideration of the agenda item. Board members approved this proposal.

In addition, the Provost advised Board members that he had received a statement of potential conflict of interest from the Secretary to the College in relation to agenda item 1(v) Assent to New Scholars. The Secretary to the College's son Liam Ó Comáin, Engineering, was on the roll for election as a new Scholar. He advised Board members that he had discussed the matter with the Secretary to the College. The Provost proposed to the Board, with the agreement of the Secretary to the College, that the Secretary to the College would remain present in the Board meeting for the consideration of the agenda item. Board members approved this proposal.

#### BD/19-20/205 Election to Fellowship and Honorary Fellowship

(i) The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of the Chapter on the Fellows, Section 7, Subsection 4 (a):

Professor Catherine Comiskey Professor Helen Sheridan Professor Lidia Tajber Professor Robert Whelan Professor Na Fu Professor Brian Caulfield Professor Conor Buckley Professor Etain Tannam Professor Rachel McDonnell Professor Giuseppe Mazziotti Professor Plamen Stamenov Professor Aidan McDonald Professor Tim Persoons Professor Sarah Doyle

(ii) The Board elected the following Professors to Fellowship of the College under the terms of the Chapter on the Fellows, Section 7, Subsection 4 (b):

Professor Ruth Mazo Karras Professor Joseph Keane Professor Andrew Murphy Professor Ahuvia Kahane

The seniority of the new Fellows to be in the order shown.

(iii) The Board elected the following to Honorary Fellowship under the terms of the Chapter on the Fellows, Section 11, Subsection 1:

Dame Susan Jocelyn Bell Burnell; Professor John FitzGerald; Mr Neil Mendoza.

#### BD/19-20/206 Election to Scholarship

The Board elected the following:

Bachelor in Global Business (1)	Oisín Horgan
Biological and Biomedical Science (5)	Jane Cook Fionn O'Sullivan Beaven Ankner-Edelstein Conor Leon Róisín Barrett
Children's and General Nursing (3)	Monica Dalton* Rhianna Corcoran Ellen McGee
Classics (1)	Michael MacNulty*
Computer Science (4)	David Nugent Adam Ogórek Matthew Howard

John Burke

Ahmed Hussein

Grace Murphy Ronan Dunne

Liam Ó Comáin Emmet Murphy

Linde Vergeylen\*

**Rebecca Payling** 

Eoin Jackson\* Beatrice Campbell Benjamin Conlon Rachel O' Leary

Matthew O' Shea

Saoirse Flattery

**Emilie Oudart** 

Michael O' Callaghan

Caoimhín Scanlon\*

Liam Mariga\*

Law and Business (1)

Law and French (1)

**Dental Science (1)** 

Engineering (2)

**English Studies (1)** 

Law (4)

**Economic and Social Studies (2)** 

**Geography and Geoscience (1)** 

Law and Political Science (1)

Management Science and Information Systems Studies (1)

Mathematics (1)

Medicine (9)

Nursing (3)

Pharmacy (1)

Philosophy (1)

**Occupational Therapy (2)** 

Philosophy, Political Science,

**Economics and Sociology (1)** 

**Physical Sciences (1)** 

Social Studies (1)

Katherine White\* Yvonne Buttle Angela Joy Iyad Marzoug O'Brien Darragh O' Dowd Matthew Laffey Oisin O'Connor Basem Fouda

Jessica Prendergast Chidera Muodebe Rebecca Sanfey

Meabh Bonham Corcoran Alexandra Solovyeva

Kealan Ó Tiarnaigh

James O' Donnell

Ellen McHugh

Tom McCarthy\*

Lorraine Vaughan

French and Psychology	Aoibhe De Burca*
English Literature and Modern Irish	Anthony Bradley
English Literature and Philosophy	Grace Banks
Classical Civilisation and History	Aisling Foley Rooney
Jewish and Islamic Civilisations and	Louisa Klatt
Psychology	
Ancient History and Archaeology and	Claire Morgan-Busher
Latin	
English Literature and History	Róisín Ryan
History and Music	Daniel Vives Lynch

\*Foundation Scholar

### BD/19-20/207 Prizes Awarded at Foundation Scholarship

The following prizes were awarded:

Excellence in Scholarship – St Patrick's Benevolent Society of Toronto Prize	Tom McCarthy
Classics – John Isaac Beare Memorial Prize	Michael McNulty
Classics – Marshall Porter Memorial Prize, Division I	Matthew Wainwright
Classics – Marshall Porter Memorial Prize, Division II (AHA)	Nessa Lyons
Classics – Marshall Porter Memorial Prize, Division II (Classical Civ.)	Ruby McDougal
Medicine – Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarship	Sz-Ying Lee
Science – Kingsmill Jones Memorial Prize	Michael Creed
Mathematics – Michael Roberts Prize	Edwina Aylward
Philosophy – John Henry Bernard Prize	Grace Banks
Modern Languages – Cotter Prize in Modern Languages	Arianna Bettin

Signed .....

Date .....