Incorporating any amendments approved at subsequent Board meetings

The University of Dublin

Trinity College

Minutes of Board Meeting, Monday 7 April 2014 Trinity Monday

Present Provost (Dr P J Prendergast), Vice-Provost/Chief Academic Officer

(Professor L Hogan), Senior Lecturer/Dean of Undergraduate Studies (Professor P Geoghegan), Registrar (Professor S P A Allwright), Bursar (Professor G J Lacey), Professor S D C Barrett, Professor M Bouroche, Mr F Cowzer, Professor W J Dowling, Professor E Drew, Ms S Dunphy, Mr D Frost, Mr J Gallagher, Mr G J Garrahan, Mr S Garry, Professor H Gibbons, Mr R Kenny, Mr J Leahy, Professor J F McGilp, Professor N Marples, Professor C

O'Farrelly, Professor M Ó Siochrú, Professor H J Rice.

Apologies Dr O Braiden, Professor R Gilligan, Mr T Lenihan, Professor D O'Neill,

Treasurer/Chief Financial Officer (Mr I Mathews), Interim Chief Operating

Officer (Ms G Ruane).

In attendance Assistant Secretary to the College (Ms V Butler)

(ex officio) Secretary to the College (Mr J Coman).

Those present made the statutory declaration.

BD/13-14/233 Election to Fellowship and Honorary Fellowship

(i) The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of the Chapter on the Fellows, Section 7, Subsection 4 (a):

Professor Agnes Higgins

Professor Kumlesh Kumar Dev Professor Georg Stefan Duesberg

Professor Christine Elizabeth Morris

Professor Cathal Walsh Professor Dmitri Zaitsev Professor Frank Wellmer Professor Caitríona Leahy Professor Gavin Doherty

Professor Diarmuid Rossa Phelan Professor Anthony James Robinson

Professor Paula Colavita Professor Anne Dolan Professor Hongzhou Zhang

The seniority of the new Fellows to be in the order shown.

(ii) The Board elected the following to Honorary Fellowship under the terms of the Chapter on the Fellows, Section 11:

William Brendan Parsons, Earl of Rosse Dr Marie Redmond Dr Moira Wallace

BD/13-14/234 Election to Scholarship

The Board elected the following:

Ancient and Medieval History and Culture Moore, Ralph Thomas

Children's and General Nursing

Jeffery, Karen Iris

Classics

Madela, Alexandra Maria

Computer Science

Murphy, Eoin Fintan Joseph

Rosca, Jonathan

Computer Science and

Language Hermann, Enno

Dental Science Nowak, Sylwia Mc Ternan, Jill

Economic and Social Studies

Reidy, Paul

Mattock, John Christopher

Engineering Cahill, Áine Esther Vanhoutte, Kris Lynn, Jonathan Fallon, Brian

History

Murphy, Thomas

Earle Ahern, William David

Anthony

History and Political Science

Barton, Michael

Human Health and Disease

O'Driscoll, David

Law

McCormack-George, Dáire Farrington, Francesca Mia

Murray, Aisling O'Callaghan, Louise

Ward, Jeff

Law and Business

Chow, Leona

Law and French Finan, Seán

Law and German Keniry, Shauna Danielle

Law and Political Science

Guidera, Hugh

Mathematics Keilthy, Adam McMeel, Conor Thornton, Niall

Medicinal Chemistry McAdams, Deirdre

Medicine
Duff, Eimear
Keogh, Conor
Dunne, Esme
McCartan, Thomas
Raftery, Nicola
Gaffney, Aoife
Horgan, Ellen

Kenny, Padraigin O'Connor, Niamh

Richard, Georgia Rosalie

Gill, Cara

O'Donnell, Martin Kong, Tseun Han Larney, Conor Mulkerrin, Grainne O'Brien, Oisín Anthony White, Carla

Killian, Owen Peter Murray, Clodagh Sebaoui, Salim

Nanoscience, Physics and Chemistry of Advanced

Materials Kelly, Luke

Selkirk, Andrew David Harry

Traynor, Brian

Nursing

Weedle, Suzanna Jane

Barry, Niamh

Carmody, Sara-Jane

Jones, Emily

Occupational Therapy

Ruttledge, Roberta

Pharmacy

Scott, Daniel Francis

Heffernan, Turlough Michael

Murphy, Niamh Mary Murray, Sorcha Jane Stapleton, Jack

Philosophy, Political Science, Economics and

Sociology

Francis-Devine, Brigid Eileen Foley, William Michael

Murphy, Neil Stack, Stephen

Trant, Alexandra Bridgit

Physiotherapy

Kenny, Gena

Taylor, Clare

Psychology

Curtis, Aisling

Science

Dürr, Eva-Maria Ó Marcaigh, Fionn O'Sullivan, Georgia Stafford, Shelley Kelly, Elaine Gabbett, Cian Mc Mackin, Róisín Dowdall, Alan Kane, Harry O'Leary, Colum Connell, Rebecca Diskin, Ciana

Social Studies

Boyle, Catherine

Theoretical Physics

Clarke, Philip

McCarthy, Fiona Mary Wyse Jackson, Thomas

Walsh, Harriet

Two Subject Moderatorship

Burrows, Andrew

O'Connor, Ronan Terence

Brennan, Conor Noonan, Tom O'Sullivan, Éireann Cronin, Robert

O Neill Mahon, Louis Mark

Paul

NÍ Dhomhnaill, Niamh Frances

Anna

Corcoran, Paul Graef, Julian Rene

BD/13-14/235 Prizes Awarded at Foundation Scholarship

The following prizes were awarded:

Excellence in Scholarship - St Patrick's Benevolent Society of Toronto Prize Keilthy, Adam

Classics - John Isaac Beare Memorial Prize Madela, Alexandra Maria

Classics - Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division I No recommendations received

Classics - Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division II (AHA) Kilgore, Gertrude Burke

Classics - Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division II (Classical Civ) Vince Coulter, Oisín

Medicine - Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarship Kieran, Ruth

Science - Kingsmill Jones Memorial Prize Drennan, Regan

Mathematics - Michael Roberts Prize Ward, Owen

Philosophy - John Henry Bernard Prize (shared) Foley Michael William; Pidgeon, Annabel

Modern Languages - Cotter Prize in Modern Languages McHugh, Dean

Signed	
Date	