Incorporating any amendments approved at subsequent Board meetings

Approved 5/5/10

## The University of Dublin

## Trinity College

#### Minutes of Board Meeting, Monday 12 April 2010 Trinity Monday

Present	Provost (Dr J Hegarty), Vice-Provost/Chief Academic Officer (Dr P J Prendergast), Senior Lecturer (Dr A Douglas), Registrar (Dr J Barkhoff), Bursar (Dr M M O'Mahony), Dr S P A Allwright, Dr S D C Barrett, Ms G Clarke, Mr A Cooke, Mr R Hodson, Dr J F McGilp, Mr C Ó Broin, Dr E J O'Halpin, Dr S M Ryan, Dr D M Singleton, Dr J K Vij.
Apologies:	Mr C Cashman, Ms M A Coffey, Mr P G Connell, Mr W J Dowling, Dr Eoin Mac Cárthaigh, Dr A McElligott, Dr K J McGinley, Ms P Murphy, Dr D O'Neill, Dr H J Rice, Mr B N Sweeney, Interim Chief Operating Officer.
In attendance	
(ex officio)	Treasurer, Secretary

Those present made the statutory declaration.

# BD/09-10/219 Election to Fellowship

 Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 6 The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 6:

Mary Keating Martine Smith Garry Fleming Matthew Causey Anne Marie Healy Brendan O'Kelly Jarlath Killeen Oran Doyle Aoife McLysaght Mauro Ferreira Ciarán Simms Daniel Kelly

The seniority of the new Fellows to be in the order shown.

(ii) Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 7 The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 7:

Nick Campbell Poul Holm Michael James Grenfell Peter Simons Jay Hinton (iii) Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 9 The Board elected the following to Honorary Fellowship:

lan Graham Douglas R Green Frances Ruane

# BD/09-10/220 Election to Scholarship The Board elected the following:

Clinical Speech and Language Studies	s Denise Jennifer Abraham
Dental Science	Eoin Darragh O'Morain
Drama and Theatre Studies	Marc Jonathan Atkinson Claire Johanna Mary Blennerhassett
Economic and Social Studies	Nick Michael Fitzpatrick* Stephanie Kelly Donal O'Cofaigh* Conor Anthony O'Neill Iain Gordon Snoddy
Engineering	Kuanysh Balgazin Etienne Corish Alan David Irvine Rudi O'Reilly Meehan* Eoin Parle Jonathan Van De Belt Stephen Yates
English Studies	Conor Eoin Leahy Cal-Ryan McDonagh
European Studies	Therese Morley
History and Political Science	Samuel Nathan Mealy* Joan Elizabeth Redmond
Human Nutrition and Dietetics	Patricia Dominguez Castro
Law	Alison Fynes David McCauley Ben Christopher Eoin Mitchell
Law and French	Andrew Flynn
Management Science and Information Systems Studies	Laura Brenda Headon Alan Richard O'Brien
Mathematics	Nick Byrne Eavan Gleeson Eoin Padraig Murphy Cathal Ormond
Medicinal Chemistry	Suil Collins
Medicine	Mayce Al Kuraishi Lucy Ellen Chapman Rebecca Cole

	Maire Crowley Caoimhe Catherine Delaney* Orna Grant Elizabeth Jane Harbottle Lydia Iris Healy Kathryn Hunter* John Hynes Patrick Joseph Kerr Fatima Mousa Khadadah* Allan Klompas Samantha Martin Michael Moore Claire Anne Murphy Rachel Nickel* Ian Reynolds Nichola Sandys
Music	Margaret Bridge
Natural Sciences	Sive Finlay* Gavin Kenny Diana Elena Morosan
Nursing (BSc)	Claire Gallagher Christine Rorke*
Pharmacy	Anne-Marie Carroll* Hanah Mesallati Claire Elizabeth Mullins Fionnuala Nevin
Philosophy	David Boylan* Fintan Declan Maccecht Mallory
Philosophy and Political Science	Ciaran Parkin
Philosophy, Political Science, Economics & Sociology	Eleanor Friel
Physiotherapy	Ciara Clancy Catherine Ledden Daniel Quinn
Religions and Theology	Justin McCann*
Social Studies	Andrew Murphy
Theoretical Physics	Stephanie Hyland* Ciaran Mark Lee*
Two Subject Moderatorship Music and Psychology English Literature and Drama English Literature and Philosophy English Literature and Psychology Economics and German English Literature and Sociology English Literature and Russian	Ciaran James Doyle Clancy Mariclaire Flynn Yui Fujita Stephen Christopher David Kenneally Cliona Nic Dhomhnaill* Aine Pearl Pennello* Patrick Reevell

\* Foundation Scholar

# Incorporating any amendments approved at subsequent Board meetings

#### BD/09-10/221 Prizes Awarded at Foundation Scholarship The following prizes were awarded:

St Patrick's Benevolent Society of Toronto Prize	Stephanie Hyland
Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division 1	no recommendation received
Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division II	Eoin Silke
John Isaac Beare Memorial Prize	no recommendation received
Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarship	Renuka Rasmani Durganaudu
Kingsmill Jones Memorial Prize	Douglas James Temple
Michael Roberts Prize	Alison Birmingham
John Henry Bernard Prize	Yui Fujita
Cotter Prize in Modern Languages	Eoghan Padraig O'Ceannabhain

**BD/09-10/222** Statutes The Board noted a memorandum from the Registrar, dated 6 April 2010 and approved the final Restatement of the Statutes for circulation to the Fellows for their assent. The Board, noting the historical significance of the first full review of the Statutes in over forty years, acknowledged the immense contribution of Dr O'Dell and the Statutes Review Working Party to the preparation of the Restatement.

Signed .....

Date .....