Incorporating any amendments approved at subsequent Board meetings

The University of Dublin

Trinity College

Minutes of Board Meeting, Monday 11 May 2009 Trinity Monday

PresentProvost (Dr J Hegarty), Vice-Provost/Chief Academic Officer (Dr P J
Prendergast), Senior Lecturer (Dr A Douglas), Registrar (Dr J Barkhoff), Bursar
(Dr M M O'Mahony), Dr S P A Allwright, Ms G Clarke, Ms M A Coffey, Ms O S
Foley, Mr R Hodson, Dr J F McGilp, Dr E J O'Halpin, Mr C Reilly, Dr H J Rice, Dr
S M Ryan, Dr D M Singleton, Mr H Sullivan, Mr B Sweeney, Dr J K Vij.

In attendance Acting Secretary.

Those present made the statutory declaration.

BD/08-09/246 Election to Fellowship

- (i) Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 6 The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 6:
 - Orla Sheils Michael Louis Brennan Yuri Tarasovich Volkov Ciaran Bernard Cosgrove Bruce Dudley Robert Misstear Owen Ross McManus Maryann Gialanella Valiulis Aine Kelly Kevin Mitchell Ann Louise Bradley Robert Thomson Wolfgang Schmitt Virpi Marjaana Timonen Lorraine Leeson

The seniority of the new Fellows to be in the order shown.

- (ii) Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 7 The Board elected the following to Fellowship of the College under the terms of Chapter V, section 7:
 - Mani Ramaswami Richard Reilly Matthew Hennessy Mark Dyer John Philip O'Doherty Padraic Fallon Thomas Frodl
- (iii) Consolidated Statutes, Chapter V, Section 9 The Board elected the following to Honorary Fellowship:

Dr John Bowman Professor Yuri P Kalmykov Professor Owen Patrick Smith

BD/08-09/247 Election to Scholarship The Board elected the following:

Business Studies and a Language Nadja Turunen Computer Science Jimmy Cleary Stephen Dolan Dental Science Hamed Fesharaki Emma Claire Mc Aleese Economic and Social Studies Christine Judith Coakley Joseph Cummins **Roisin Donnelly*** Amandine Lobelle Tom Lowe Laoise Mullane Aoife Quinn Barra Roantree Mark Sykes* Christoph Walsh* Engineering Ailbhe Cullen Matthew Lyons Sinéad Cáit Ní Riada European Studies **Donal Hassett** Magdalena Loehr History and Political Science Gavin Neville Charles Morrison Chloe Teevan Human Genetics **Roisin Dunne** Law Donncha Conway Joelle Grogan Molly Joyce Law and French **Emile Burke-Murphy** Emma Libreri Emma Sinead McCarron Garret Sammon Management Science and Information Systems Studies Hugh Doyle Cailin Maguire **Mathematics** Ruadhai Dervan* Christoph Stefan Hellmayr Cian Thomas O'Criodain John Ronan Shee **Robin Joseph Tobin*** Medicine Gabriel Blankson Beecham **Conor Broderick** Valerie Broderick Justin Chan Tai Kong Jessica Cook* Anna Clare Megan Feeney Aileen Therese Fenelon Martina Feyzrakhmanova

Samantha Irwin David Mark Kelly Paul McElhinney* Thomas-John McGrath-Daly Melissa Murphy Mai Nguyen Gerard Anthony Sheridan Music **Reiltin Nic Charthaigh Duill** Natural Sciences Niamh Fox Kevin Gaughan Beth Kelly Graham Patrick Murphy Aidan Murray Fergus Poynton Lucia Salatova Kilian Walsh Pharmacy Niamh Mary Ennis Helen Gallagher* Naomi Hodgins Helen Geraldine O'Donnell Sanghee Park Philosophy Matthew Patrick Ivan McKeever Daniel Vanello Philosophy and Political Science Fay Niker Physics and Chemistry of Advanced Materials **Christian Wirtz** Physiotherapy Edel Cronin **Brendan Stephen Heck Elizabeth Melvin** Psychology Clare Delargy Religions and Theology **Geoffrey Wharton** Theoretical Physics Claire Marie O'Brien Sean Breanndan O'Conchuir* Two-subject Moderatorship Roisin Louise Adams* Huw Duffy* Hugh Declan Farrell Aine Ni Choisdealbha Jason Somerville Tim Smyth*

* Foundation Scholar

BD/08-09/248 Prizes Awarded at Foundation Scholarship The following prizes were awarded:

St Patrick's Benevolent Society of Toronto Prize Robin Joshua Tobin Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division 1 No recommendation received

Incorporating any amendments approved at subsequent Board meetings

Marshall Porter Memorial Prize Division II Niamh Thecla Ni Mhaoileoin John Isaac Beare Memorial Prize No recommendation received Dr Henry Hutchinson Stewart Medical Scholarship Andre Mendonca Madaleno Kingsmill Jones Memorial Prize Hazel Byrne Michael Roberts Prize Amy Christel Davidson John Henry Bernard Prize Huw Duffy Cotter Prize in Modern Languages Mark Sheridan

BD/08-09/249 Any Other Business - Extraordinary Meeting of the University Senate - 12 May 2009

- (i) MA (jure officii) The Board noted and approved a proposal from the Registrar for a staff member with more than 40 years service to be awarded the degree of Master in Arts (jure officii) as set out in his memorandum, tabled dated 5 May 2009.
- (ii) Appointment of Visitor In accordance with the Statutes (Chapter X, Section 4) the Board approved the Registrar's proposal, as set out in his memorandum, dated 8 May 2009, which had been tabled, to present to the Senate two candidates for the office of Visitor, to be nominated to the Government. The Board noted that, in accordance with the Statutes (Chapter III, Section 1), one of the two candidates nominated by the Senate will be appointed as Visitor to the College by the Government in due course.

Signed

Date