## The University of Dublin

## Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 18 June 2008 at 10.30 am in the Board Room.

AGENDA					
	Section A				
A.1	Minutes Meeting of 21 May 2008.	(encl)			
A.2	Matters Arising from the Minutes				
A.3	Provost's Report				
A.4	Annual Office Provost's nominations				
A.5	2008; (ii) Strategic Planning Devolution	(encl) (encl)			
A.6	Report of Working Group on Code of Governance	(encl)			
A.7	Annual Report 2006/2007	(encl)			
A.8	Audit Committee Mid-term Review Chair of the Audit Committee will attend for this item.	(encl)			
A.9		(encl) (encl)			
A.10	(ii) IS Services Annual Review	(encl) (encl)			
A.11	Trinity Exploration Campus Memorandum from the Dean of Research, dated 11 June 2008.	(encl)			
A.12	Any Other Urgent Business				
Section B					
B.1	Audit Committee Draft Minutes of meeting of 19 May 2008.	(encl)			

B.2	College Safety CommitteeDraft Minutes of meetings of:(i)21 November 2007;(ii)7 February 2008.(iii)26 May 2008.	(encl) (encl) (encl)
B.3	Finance Committee Draft Minutes of meeting of 26 May 2008.	(encl)
B.4	Information Policy Committee Draft Minutes of meeting of 22 April 2008.	(encl)
B.5	Research Committee Draft Minutes of meeting of 8 May 2008.	(encl)
B.6	Resource Management Committee - ARAM Taskforce - Approval of Financial Element of New Courses Memorandum from the Bursar, dated 29 May 2008.	(encl)
B.7	Site and Facilities Committee Draft Minutes of meeting of 27 May 2008.	(encl)
B.8	Student Services Committee Draft Minutes of meeting of 29 April 2008.	(encl)

## Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

## C.1 Board Elections - Counting of Votes on 3 July 2008

- to note and approve the nomination of the Assistant Secretary to the College (Ms A E FitzGerald) as Returning Officer, the Secretary to the College being unavailable to act because of involvement in interviews for Professor/Academic Director for the Long Room Hub on that day.
- (ii) to approve a variation to Regulation 23 (*The Secretary to the College shall appoint at least twelve people to count the votes cast in the election. All persons engaged in the conduct of the election shall undertake to preserve secrecy.*) governing the Board elections so that the Secretary may appoint at least six people to count the votes cast in the election. This proposal is being made as a result of no count being required for the Technical, Administrative and Support Staff constituency, thereby reducing by over 50% the number of potential number of votes which will be cast.
- C.2 Board Membership Graduate Students' Union to note that Mr R Hodson has been elected President of the Graduate Students' Union and would serve on Board for 2007-2008 (Ms A Murphy and Mr P Laird have been elected Vice-President and Treasurer respectively).
- C.3 Higher Degrees to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 27 May 2008.

C.4	Memorandum of Understanding 2008 between Trinity College ( Dublin and the University of Melbourne, Australia to note that this Memorandum of Understanding was signed on 6 May 2008, by the Provost and by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Melbourne, to facilitate academic exchange between the two institutions.	encl)
C.5	<ul> <li>memorandum from the Provost, dated 11 June 2008.</li> <li>(iii) Fund for the Visual and Performing Arts to note and approve a memorandum from the Provost, dated 11 June 2008.</li> <li>(iv) Allen Burke Memorial Prize (New Prize and Calendar (Entry) to note and approve a memorandum from the Treasurer (Acting) dated 15 May 2008.</li> <li>(v) Prizes in Psychology to note and approve a memorandum (</li> </ul>	encl) encl) encl)
C.6	from the Treasurer (Acting), dated 15 May 2008. Headship of Schools to note and approve the following nominations to Headship of Schools, for three years from 13 July 2008: (i) Biochemistry and Immunology Professor K Mills; (ii) Engineering Professor J Fitzpatrick; (iii) Histories and Humanities Professor R Stalley; (iv) Natural Sciences Professor J Parnell; (v) Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor M Radomski; (vi) Physics Professor J Donegan.	
C.7	Senate - Grace for the Degree of Master in Arts ( <i>jure officii</i> ) Admission to corresponding degree of Master in Laws (LL.M.) ( <i>ad</i> ( <i>eundem</i> Oxon.) to note and approve memorandum from the Registrar, dated 5 June 2008.	encl)
C.8	Almanack for noting. (	encl)
C.9	Representation - Adelaide and Meath Hospital incorporating the National Children's Hospital to note and approve the nomination of Professor D Kelleher as the College representative on the Board of the Adelaide and Meath Hospital incorporating the National Children's Hospital.	
C.10	Secretarial Staff Review Committee - Representation to note the election of Ms Mabel Denniston as the staff representative on the Secretarial Staff Review Committee for the academic year 2008-2009.	
C.11	<b>Technical Staff Committee</b> to note that Ms T Moloney and Mr J McCauley have been elected as representatives for Constituency One and Three respectively on the Technical Staff Committee for 2008-2010.	

Section D - Personnel Matters