## The University of Dublin

## **Trinity College**

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 4 July 2007 at **9.00** a.m. in the Board Room.

#### **AGENDA**

Apologies

#### Section A

#### A.1 Minutes

Meetings of

- (i) 20 June 2007;
- (ii) 26 June 2007.

# A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

## A.3 Provost's Report

## A.4 Student Administration System (SAS)

Report from the Audit Committee.

Mr J Collins, Audit Committee member and Internal Auditor to attend

## A.5 TCD Annual Report – 2005-2006

# A.6 Strategic Recruitment Schedule

Memorandum from the Vice-Provost.

## A.7 Marino Institute of Education

Memorandum from the Registrar, dated 25 June 2007.

## A.8 Academic Year Structure

Memorandum from the Senior Lecturer.

# A.9 Principal Committees

Memorandum from the Registrar, dated 25 June 2007.

## A.10 Honorary Degrees

Registrar to report.

## A.11 Acta of the University Council

Meeting of 27 June 2007.

# A.12 Any Other Urgent Business

## **Section B**

## **B.1** Audit Committee

Draft Minutes of Meeting of 25 June 2007.

# **B.2** College Safety Committee

Draft Minutes of Meeting of 19 June 2007.

#### **B.3** Finance Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 27 June 2007

### **B.4** Personnel and Appointments Committee

Draft Minutes of meetings of:

- (i) 1 June 2007;
- (ii) 13 June 2007.

#### **B.5** Research Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 10 May 2007.

### **B.6** Resource Management Committee

Minutes of meeting of 11 June 2007.

#### B.7 Site and Facilities Committee – Refurbishment of Luce Hall (see

**SF/06-07/120 of 5 June 2007)** to note and approve memorandum from the Director of Buildings, dated 26 June 2007.

#### **B.8** Student Services Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 3 May 2007.

## Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

# C.1 Proposals on Academic Restructuring – Final Decisions (see BD/06-07/278 of 23 May 2007)

- (i) Role and Responsibility of Faculty Dean;
- (ii) Procedures for the Selection of Faculty Dean;
- (iii) Budgeting Arrangements for New Faculties;
- (iv) Guiding Principles for New Faculty Governance;
- (v) New Faculty Office;
- (vi) Appendix A Existing Five-Faculty Functions and Processes and Recommendations for Streamlining processes in the New Three-Faculty Structure.

# **C.2 Headships of Schools** to note and approve the following:

- (i) **School of Law** Professor W Binchy, 2007-2010;
- (ii) Aspirant School of Religions, Theology and Ecumenics Professor L Hogan, 2007-2010.
- **C.3 Higher Degrees** to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 19 and 25 June 2007.
- C.4 Proctors' Lists for Second Summer Commencements to note that the Proctors' Lists will be approved by the sub-committee of Board and Council on 3 July 2007.
- **C.5 Sealing** to be noted.
- C.6 Prizes and Other Awards Grace Lawless Lee Fund to note and approve memorandum from the Provost, dated 21 June 2007.

# C.7 Nomination for Appointment

#### C.8 NIBRT –Report

Memorandum from the Associate Dean of Research.

- C.9 NDRC-ReportMemorandum from the Associate Dean of Research.
- C.10 DMMC Directors' Report and Financial Statements Year Ended 30 September 2006.
- C.11 Panel of Enquiry Deputy Chair to note that as a consequence of her appointment as a High Court Judge, Ms Irvine, SC had resigned as Deputy Chair of the Panel of Enquiry, with effect from 21 May 2007.
- C.12 Disciplinary Panel Deputy Chair to note that as a consequence of his appointment as a High Court Judge, Mr G Birmingham, SC has resigned as Deputy Chair of the Disciplinary Panel, with effect from 11 May 2007.
- C.13 Representation Board of the Dublin Institute of Technology to note and approve the appointment of Professor Jürgen Barkhoff as the College's representative on the Board of the Dublin Institute of Technology, to replace Professor David Dickson.
- C.14 Library Staff Review Committee to note the election of Dr P
  Murphy to replace Dr A J Piesse on the Library Staff Review
  Committee for the academic year 2007-2008 and for two further
  years thereafter.
- **C.15 Secretarial Staff Review Committee** to note the election of Ms S Ní Sheoin as the staff representative on the Secretarial Staff Review Committee for the academic year 2007-2008.
- **C.16 Resignation** to note the resignation of Mr M Mullins, Director of Research and Innovation, with effect from 29 June 2007.
- C.17 Staff Matters Early Retirement to note and approve the request of Professor D L Weaire (Physics) for early retirement with effect on and from 30 September 2007.
- **C.18 Nominating Committees** to note the following memberships:
  - School of English School Administrator Administrative Grade 3/2 (permanent)

Professor S J Matterson

Ms A Anderson

Dr A J Piesse

Ms A Marcellin (DIT)

(ii) School of Nursing and Midwifery – Administrative Grade 1 (permanent)

Secretary to the College

Professor C M Begley

Mr F O'Rourke

Ms F M Timmins

Ms R Kane (DCU)

**C.19 Vacation Procedures** to note that Board and Council business would be dealt with by the Provost under Vacation Procedures during the Long Vacation (13 July to 9 September 2007).

C.20 Summer Hours to note that in the Long Vacation (12 July to 9 September 2007 inclusive) normal College office hours will be Monday to Thursday: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Fridays: 9 a.m. to 4.30 p.m.

# C.21 Graduate Students' Union to note the following elections:

President: Mr A Frenda Vice-President: Ms M Doros Treasurer: Ms R Pe Pallileo