The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 20 June 2007 at **10.30** am in the Board Room.

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of 30 May 2007.

- A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes
- A.3 Provost's Report
- A.4 HEA Funding Model

Memorandum from the Provost, dated 13 June 2007.

A.5 Annual Office

Provost to report.

A.6 Acta of the University Council

Meeting of 6 June 2007.

A.7 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Finance Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 30 May 2007.

B.2 Site and Facilities Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 5 June 2007, together with Space Allocation Policy (Minute SF/06-07/114 refers).

Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

C.1 Higher Degrees to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 29 May 2007.

- **C.2 Proctors' Lists for First Summer Commencements** to note that the Proctors' Lists were approved by the sub-committee of Board and Council on 12 June 2007.
- **C.3 Sealings** to be noted.
- C.4 Calendar Change Daniel John Cunningham Memorial Medal to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 11 June 2007.
- C.5 Disciplinary Offences in respect of Students Maximum Limits of Fines and correction of textual error to note and approve memorandum from the Registrar, dated 6 June 2007.
- **C.6 Douglas Hyde Gallery Board** to note and approve the nomination of Dr D O'Donovan to the Douglas Hyde Gallery Board for a term of four years.
- **C.7 Staff Matters Early Retirement** to note and approve the following applications for early retirement:
 - (i) **IS Services** Mr M Nowlan, Director of IS Services, with effect from 31 December 2007;
 - (ii) **Pharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology** Professor O I Corrigan, with effect from 30 September 2007.
- **C.8 Committees** to note the following changes in membership for the academic year 2007-2008 and two further academic years thereafter:
 - (i) Administrative and Library Staff Review Committee Ms T McDonald to replace Ms J Maxwell;
 - (ii) **Technical Staff Committee**Dr V A Campbell and Dr U Bond to replace Dr A Kelly and Dr G J Farrar.
- **C.9 Senior Promotions Appeals Committee** to note and approve the following membership:

Senior Dean (ex officio)

Professor R A Stalley (IFUT/ASA representative)

Professor J H Ohlmeyer (member appointed by the University Council)

- C.10 Nominations for Appointment
- **C.11 Nominating Committees** to note the following memberships:
 - (i) School of Mathematics Systems Administrator –
 Administrative Grade 2 -(2 year contract)
 Professor S Shatashvili
 Mr D Malone
 Ms R Welsh
 - (ii) School of Medicine Administrative Officer (Student Administration (permanent) (see BD/06-07/306 (v) of 23 May 2007) Professor S R McCann and Ms M Keating to be replaced by Ms J Hussey and Mr B Murray.

- (iii) School of Nursing and Midwifery Administrative Officers Administrative Grade 3/2 (Permanent)
 - (a) Assistant Allocations Officer
 - (b) Administrative Officer Events
 - (c) Administrative Officer Post-Registration Courses
 - (d) Administrative Officer Timetabling
 - (e) Administrative Officer Undergraduate
 Assistant Secretary to the College
 Mr F O'Rourke
 Ms C King
 Dr D Gregg
 Mrs A Finan (UCD)
- (iv) Staff Office (see BD/06-07/307 (vii) (a) to (c) of 23 May 2007)
 - (a) Staff Development Manager Administrative Grade 1 (permanent job-share) The Staff Secretary will now chair this committee (in place of the Secretary to the College);
 - (b) **Staff Relations Manager Senior Administrative Grade 3 (permanent)** Mr R Keaveney has been added to the membership;
 - (c) Staff Relations Officer Administrative Grade 1 (permanent) The Staff Secretary will now chair this committee (in place of the Secretary to the College).