The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 22 November 2006 at **10.30** am in the Board Room.

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of 25 October 2006.

A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 Report on Clustering of Schools

- (i) Memorandum from the Secretary, dated 17 November 2006;
- (ii) Report on Clustering of Schools, dated 15 November 2006

A.5 New Model Superannuation Scheme

Secretary to report.

A.6 Relationships with other Institutions - Marino Institute of

Education

Registrar to report.

A.7 Acta of the University Council

Meeting of 8 November 2006.

A.8 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Personnel and Appointments Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of: 25 September 2006.

B.2 Resource Management Committee

Minutes of meetings of:

- (i) 17 October 2006;
- (ii) 13 November 2006.

Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

C.1 Higher Degrees to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 24 October 2006.

- **C.2 Proctors' Lists for Autumn Commencements** to note that the Proctors' Lists were approved by the sub-committee of Board and Council on 7 November 2006.
- **C.3 Prizes and Other Awards** to note and approve the following:
 - (i) **John Bennett Fund (***Calendar* **T4)** Bursary for 2006-2007 (value: €507.90) to be awarded to Ms A Wilson (06418783);
 - (ii) **Jean Montgomery Fund (***Calendar* **T3)** Bursary for 2006-2007 to be awarded to Mr M T Fitzpatrick (03030067);
 - (iii) Law Students' Quatercentenary Fund (Calendar T5) €700 from the fund to be awarded to Mr M Moran (03346196) for 2006-2007.
 - (iv) Henry Flood Bequest On the recommendation of the Graduate Studies Committee, Mr Patrick Lyons (00159956) is nominated for a research award of €8,000 for 2006/07;
 - (v) **Billy Roberts Memorial Prize** Memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 31 October 2006;
 - (vi) **Financial Assistance Awards** to note and approve the recommendations of the Financial Assistance Committee for awards, Hilary, Trinity and Michaelmas Term 2006.
- **C.4 Entrance Exhibitions 2006** to note and approve the following:
 - (i) **Report** Memorandum from the Senior Lecturer, dated 15 November 2006 and report;
 - (ii) **Awards 2006** Memorandum from the Senior Lecturer, dated 15 November 2006.
- C.5 Bequests and Benefactions to note the gift from Dr J N Wilson, of Woking, Surrey, of medals which had been awarded his father-in-law, Dr A F Kerr and to the latter's brother Mr W J Kerr (Large Gold Medal, Digges La Touche Medal in silver of the University Philosophical Society 1909-1910, DU Harriers Silver Medal).
- C.6 Douglas Hyde Gallery Board Chair to note and approve the nomination of Professor N M McGowan as Chair of the Douglas Hyde Gallery Board, with effect from 1 December 2006, succeeding Professor F P Ruane, who has resigned.
- C.7 Board Minutes Corrections
 - (i) 5 July 2006 BD/05-06/385 Senior Promotions (ii) Senior Lectureship Correct (English) to '(French)' after the name of Dr S E Alyn Stacey.
 - (ii) 27 September 2006 BD/06-07/004 Communications Insert the words 'per annum' after €150,000 on line 4 of the third paragraph.
- C.8 National Digital Research Centre Limited Director to note and approve the nomination of the Associate Dean of Research (Dr D G Lloyd) (currently interim Director) as the TCD Director on the Board of the National Digital Research Centre Limited.
- C.9 Disciplinary Panel Deputy Chair to note and approve the appointment, following consultation with the Academic Staff Association, of Mr George Birmingham as Deputy Chair of the Disciplinary Panel.

- C.10 Partnership Committee Towards 2016 Agreed Action Plan to note the following:
 - (i) Letter from the Provost to the Chairman, Education Sector Performance Verification Group, dated 2 November 2006;
 - (ii) Towards 2016: Action Plan Trinity College Dublin;
 - (iii) Report of Partnership Committee, dated 13 November 2006.
- C.11 Memorandum of Understanding between the Coombe Lying in Hospital, the Rotunda Hospital and the University of Dublin, Trinity College to note that a Memorandum of Understanding was signed on 10 November 2006 by the Provost, the Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences and the Director of the School of Nursing and Midwifery in respect of all pre-registration midwifery education programmes.
- C.12 Scholarship Request for Intermission to approve the Senior Lecturer's request for the following requests for a second year of intermission of Scholarship/Non-Foundation Scholarship in 2006-2007:
 - (i) **00701025** Foundation Scholar –previously intermitted in 2002/2003;
 - (ii) **01403966** Non-Foundation Scholar previously intermitted in 2005-2006;
 - (iii) **01379097** Non-Foundation Scholar previously intermitted in 2005-2006;
 - (iv) **05156378** Non-Foundation Scholar previously intermitted in 2004-2005.

C.13 Nominations for Appointment

- **C.14 Nominating Committees** to note the following memberships:
 - (i) College Health Service College Health Nurse –
 Administrative Grade 2 (indefinite duration)
 Medical Director, College Health Service (Dr D McGrath)
 Dr N Murphy

Nurse C Conway

Mr B Misstear

Nurse B Lenehan (UCD)

(ii) Staff Office - Staff Secretary - Senior Administrative Grade 1 (permanent)

Vice-Provost

Secretary

Treasurer

Dr J B Foley

Mr H Kearns

Mr C McNairney (NUI Galway)

(iii) Trinity Access Programme – Administrative Officer – Administrative Grade 3 (indefinite duration)

Assistant Secretary to the College

Ms A Anderson

Dr M J Carroll

Ms C Hannon

C.15 National Digital Research Centre to note that the Memorandum and Articles of Association have been amended to comply with the requirements of the Revenue Commissioners to facilitate attainment of charitable status for the entity.

C.16 Headship of the School of English 2006-2009 to note and approve the nomination of Professor S J Matterson as Head of the School of English from 13 July 2006 to 12 July 2009.

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board