The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 27 September 2006 at **10.30** am in the Board Room.

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 10.15 am

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of meeting of 5 July 2006.

- A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes
- A.3 Provost's Report

The Dean of Research will attend for this business

A.4 Principal Committees

Memorandum from the Registrar, dated 20 September 2006.

A.5 Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees

Registrar to report.

A.6 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

No business under this heading

Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- C.1 Heads of Agreements in relation to Strategic Partnerships to note that Heads of Agreement, signed by the Provost on behalf of the College with NUI Galway, UCC and RCSI.
- C.2 Representation St Luke's Hospital Board to approve the nomination of Professor C A O'Moráin, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, as the College's representative on the St Luke's Hospital Board.
- **C.3 Fellowship** to note that Professor P Cunningham has resigned, with effect from 31 August 2006.
- **C.4 Sealings** to be noted.
- **C.5 Bequests and Benefactions Sheppard Trust** to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 29 August 2006.
- C.6 Committees Administrative and Library Staff Review
 Committee 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009 to note that Dr M R
 Gale replaces Dr A Kokaram on this committee.

- C.7 Nominations for Appointment
 - Nominations for Appointment approved under Vacation Procedures;
 - (ii) Nominations for Appointment
- C.8 Tutorship to note and approve the appointment of Dr R Moss (History of Art) to replace Mr A McCashin (Social Work and Social Policy) from 1 October 2006.
- C.9 Technical Staff Committee 2006 Review to note and approve recommendations as set out in a memorandum from the Staff Relations Manager, dated 19 September 2006.
- **C.10 Vacation Procedures** to note that the following items of business were approved by the Provost under Vacation Procedures:
 - (i) Principal Committees Information Policy Committee
 Professor E O'Halpin was nominated as a member of the
 Information Policy Committee as a consequence, his
 membership of the Personnel and Appointments
 Committee has ceased.
 - (ii) Calendar Entries
 - (a) Doyle Environmental Law Essay Prize The Annual Doyle Environment Law Essay Prize was founded in 2006 and is awarded to the Sophister student adjudged to have written the best essay on a prescribed aspect of Environmental Law. Value, €500.
 - (b) Matheson Ormsby Prentice Company and Partnership Law Essay Prize The annual Matheson Ormsby Prentice Company and Partnership Law Essay Prize was founded in 2004 and is awarded to the Sophister student adjudged to have written the best essay on a prescribed aspect of Company and Partnership Law. Value, €1,000.
 - (iii) Headship of Schools 3 years from 13 July 2006 to 12 July
 - (a) **Drama, Film and Music 2006-2009** Professor K Rockett.
 - (b) Languages, Literature and Cultural Studies
 Professor N M McGowan (Acting Head 13 July 27
 September 2006: Professor D H T Scott).
 - (iv) **Trinity Hall Deputy, and Assistant Wardens 2006-2007** The following were appointed:

Dr A Hughes (Deputy Warden) Mr C Larkin
Mr D Richards Dr A Barry
Dr H Tewari Mr D Lehrke
Ms E Hanbidge Ms E Edwards
Mr M Dyar Ms N Connolly
Ms Y Daly Mr Z Zalinski

(v) Principal Committees and Sub-Groups – Representation of Heads of School – Academic Year 2006-2007

Principal Committees

Information Policy: Professor M A Marsh

Personnel and Appointments: Professor H Delany

Research: Professor J H Ohlmeyer Site and Facilities: Dr D M Abrahamson Student Services: None. Sub-Groups

Foundation Scholarship: Professor J G Lunney

Cross-Discipline and Service Teaching: Professor D Taylor and Professor D G Little

Academic Titles (review current practice): Dean of

Graduate Studies chair

Taskforce – Administrative and Support Services: Professor J H Ohlmeyer, Professor J A Fitzpatrick; Professor D Taylor; Dr G McHugh.

- (vi) Prizes and Other Awards Postgraduate Travelling Scholarship (2006), Sheppard Memorial Prize and the Sir John Banks Medical in Medicine awarded to Dr Aoife Brennan.
- (vii) Tutorship Tutors were appointed in accordance with memoranda from the Senior Tutor, dated 24 July and 30 August 2006.
- (viii) **Staff Matters Early Retirement** approved as follows:
 - (a) **Housekeeping** Ms A Rogers (31 October 2006);
 - (b) **Alumni, Proctors' and Seanad Electoral Office** Mrs J O'Hara (30 September 2006).
- (ix) Bequests and Benefactions Claude and Vincenette Pichois Research Awards A memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 16 August 2006, was approved.
- (x) Scholarship Requests for Intermission
 - (a) Foundation Scholar

Request for second year of intermission in 2006-2007 (previously intermitted in 2005-2006): 01511491;

- (b) Non-Foundation Scholars
 - (a) Request for second year of intermission in 2006-2007 (previously intermitted in 2005-2006): 00053571 01368966
 - 01368966
 - (b) Request for second and third year of intermission in 2006-2007 and 2007-2008 (previously intermitted in 2005-2006): 01717952
- (xi) Nominating Committees
 - (a) Director of Buildings Office Building Projects Officer, Administrative Grade 3 (contract of indefinite duration)

Director of Buildings

Professor S P A Allwright

Mr J Doyle

Mr M Kelly (DCU)

(b) School of Drama, Film and Music – School Administrator (part-time), Administrative Grade 3/2 (permanent)

Professor K Rockett

Professor B R Singleton

Dr M H Adams

Ms A Anderson

Ms A Marcellin (DIT)

(c) School of Histories and Humanities – Extramural Administrator (part-time), Administrative Grade 3 (contract of indefinite duration)

Professor J H Ohlmeyer

Dr I McGrath

Dr D Birch

Dr M Kennedy (RIA)

(d) Library – John Stearne Medical Library - Assistant Librarian (Readers' Services), Assistant Librarian Grade 2 (permanent)

Librarian

Ms A Healy

Mr T Peare

Dr H Roche

Mr P Hickey (UCD)

(e) School of Nursing and Midwifery – Assistant Allocations Officer, Administrative Grade 3/2 (1 year contract)

Assistant Secretary to the College

Mr F O'Rourke

Mr P Dunne

Ms F Timmins

(f) Senior Lecturer's Area (Admissions Office) – Mature Students Officer, Administrative Grade 2/1 (below bar) (permanent)

Academic Secretary (Acting)

Mr B Murray

Dr A J Piesse

Ms S Power

Mr V O'Hora (DIT)

(g) Senior Lecturer's Office – Administrative Officer (half-time), Administrative Grade 3 (2 year contract)

Ms E Hayes

Dr P McCabe

Ms M LeGood

(h) Secretary's Office – Equality Officer (part-time) – Administrative Grade 3/2 (3 year contract)

Assistant Secretary to the College

Ms L Power

Dr L E Dovle

Professor J B Grimson

Mr D Treanor

(i) Student Counselling Service – Student Counsellor – Administrative Grade 1 (permanent)

Secretary to the College

Dean of Students

Ms A Naughton

Ms D Flynn

Mr R Foley (UCD)

(j) Treasurer's Office – Accountant (part-time) – Administrative Grade 1 (permanent)

Deputy Treasurer

Professor J F McGilp

Ms J Byrne

Mr D Doolan (UCD)

(k) Treasurer's Office – Accounts Payable Supervisor – Administrative Grade 3/2 (permanent)

Deputy Treasurer Professor J A N Parnell Ms A Mulcahy Mr B Gillen (DCU)

(l) Treasurer's Office – Payroll Supervisor – Administrative Grade 3/2 (2 year contract)

Deputy Treasurer Dr D P O'Donovan Ms M Cormican

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board