The University of Dublin

Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Monday 26 June 2006 at 10.30 am in the Board Room.

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of meeting of 13 June 2006.

- A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes
- A.3 Provost's Report
- A.4 Statutes Results of assents on Statutory changes University

Council

Registrar to report.

A.5 Task Force 1 – Location, Value for Money and New Structures of College's Administrative and Support Structures

Report, dated June 2006.

A.6 Audit Committee Annual Report 2005 – Response from Executive Officers

Memorandum, dated 20 June 2006.

(Audit Committee Annual Report 2005 circulated to Board for 13 December 2005 – see BD/05-06/105)

A.7 Annual Report 2004-2005 for discussion

Draft, for initial discussion.

A.8 Pension Scheme – Actuarial Valuation 2005

Secretary to report.

A.9 Senior Promotions Committee

Provost to report.

- A.10 Acta of the University Council
 - (i) Meeting of 7 June 2006;
 - (ii) Meeting of 16 June 2006.
- A.11 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

There are no items for consideration.

Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- C.1 Higher Degrees to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 20 June 2006.
- **C.2 Proctors' Lists for First Summer Commencements** to note that the Proctors' Lists were approved by the sub-committee of Board and Council on 13 June 2006.
- C.3 Permissions Library to approve the request of the Librarian, subject to agreement on conditions of transport and display, to loan to the Literaturhaus Berlin a number of Samuel Beckett MS for exhibition from 14 July to 10 September 2006:
 - (i) MS 10402/111, 112, 125 (letters to Thomas MacGreevy);
 - (ii) MS 10962 (student notebook);
 - (iii) MS 8114/7 (notebook of Thomas MacGreevy)
- C.4 Calendar Homan Potterton Prize to note and approve new wording as follows: The prize is awarded to the student of History of Art who has achieved the highest overall grade in continuous assessment exercise carried out during the Junior Sophister year and who intends to take Moderatorship Part 2 in the History of Art and Architecture. Value €300.
- C.5 Prizes and Other Awards A J Leventhal Scholarship 2006 to note and approve the recommendation of the Selection Committee to award the 2006 Scholarship to Mr M Raftery-Skehan, value €2,285.
- **C.6 Technical Staff Committee Membership** to note and approve the following changes in membership:
 - Academic Staff Representatives Dr N M Marples and Dr F J G Mitchell to replace Dr M E G Lyons and Dr C A O'Sullivan;
 - (ii) Constituency 1 Mr R Keaveney;
 - (iii) Constituency 3 Dr W Cullen.
- C.7 Chaplaincy Presbyterian and Methodist Chaplain to note and approve the reappointment of the Revd Katherine P Meyer as Presbyterian and Methodist Chaplain for three years from 1 September 2006 to 30 August 2009.
- C.8 Staff Matters
 - (i) Early Retirement to note and approve the early retirement of Ms M O'Donnell (Treasurer's Office) on 31 October 2006.
 - (ii) Change of Title to note and approve the title of Deputy
 Director of Information Systems Services for Mr J P Murphy
 [existing title: 'Assistant Director (Computer and Network Systems);
 - (iii) **Resignation** to note the resignation of Ms M Kelly (Staff Secretary) with effect on and from 31 August 2006.
- **C.9 Fellowship** to note resignation of Professor M J Gibney, with effect from 1 September 2006.

- C.10 Scholarship (see Minute BD/04-05/287 (i) of 11 May 2005) to note and approve the request of the Senior Lecturer that the second year of intermission for the academic year 2005-2006 for Foundation Scholar, 00057738 be cancelled, as the student had registered for a post-graduate course in January 2006.
- C.11 Board Membership Graduate Students' Union to note that Ms R Pe Palileo, having been elected President of the Graduate Students' Union, will be a member of the Board of the College with effect on and from 13 July 2006 to 12 July 2007.
- **C.12 Nominating Committees** to note the following memberships:
 - (i) Senior Lecturer's Area (Trinity Access Programme) Administrative Officer (Administrative Grade 3/2) (3-year contract)

Acting Academic Secretary (Ms A Anderson)

Ms C Hannon

Dr D P O'Donovan

(ii) Treasurer's Office – Senior Buyer – (Administrative Grade 3/2) (permanent)

Deputy Treasurer

Mr B Hartnett

Dr L E Doyle

Mr D Gaynor (NUI Maynooth)

[committee to replace that approved on 5 April 2006, BD/05-06/235 (vi)]

(iii) SFI CRANN Research Centre – Facility Manager (Chief Technician Grade 2/1) (contract of indefinite duration)

Dr D O'Brien

Professor J Boland

Mr J Doyle

Ms K Murphy

Mr P Dunne

(iv) Treasurer's Office – Finance Operations Manager (Senior Administrative Grade 1/Senior Administrative Grade 3) (permanent)

Treasurer

Mr I Mathews

Professor D G Little

Ms A Quinlivan (Limerick)

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board