The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 3 May 2006 at **10.30** am in the Board Room.

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 10.15 am

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of 5 April 2006.

A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 Performance Management Development System (see Minute BD/05-06/178 of 1 March 2006)

Memorandum from the Staff Secretary, dated 27 March 2006. Deferred from meeting of 5 April 2006 The Staff Secretary will attend for this item.

A.5 Capital Projects

(i) Summary Information on Financial Position and Other Matters - Issue 8 – April 2006

Paper from the Bursar, Treasurer and Director of Buildings;

(ii) Proposed Sale of Premises at Cumberland Street
 Memorandum from the Director of Buildings, dated 26
 April 2006.

The Director of Buildings will attend for this item.

A.6 Task Force 2 – Briefing

Senior Lecturer to report.

A.7 Risk Register and Risk Policy

- (i) Paper from Secretary, dated 26 April 2006. Members only
- (ii) Draft minute from the meeting of the Audit Committee, held on 26 April 2006.

A.8 Acta of the University Council

Meetings of:

- (i) 12 April 2006;
- (ii) 28 April 2006.

A.9 Research Committee - Policy on Research Groupings (see Actum CL/05-06/129 dated 12 April 2006)

Memorandum from the Dean of Research, dated 11 January 2006. *Members only*

A.10 Scholarship 2006

Senior Lecturer's report.

A.11 Any Other Urgent Business

Page 2

Section B

B.1 Personnel and Appointments Committee

Draft Minutes of meetings of:

- (i) 22 February 2006;
- (ii) 8 March 2006;
- (iii) 28 March 2006 (including revised Terms of Reference for the Committee).

B.2 Research Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 12 January 2006.

B.3 Resource Management Working Party (see minute BD/05-06/202 of 5 April 2006)

Minutes of meetings of:

- (i) 24 October 2006;
- (ii) 6 February 2006;
- (iii) 6 March 2006;
- (iv) 3 April 2006.

B.4 Site and Facilities Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 18 April 2006. *The attention of Board is drawn to Minute SF/05-06/90.*

B.5 Student Services Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 21 February 2006.

Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

C.1 Higher Degrees to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 3 April 2006.

C.2 College Portrait Collection – Acquisition to note:

- gift from the UK Trust for TCD (a Trust supported by UKbased *alumni*) of a double portrait in crayon of James Patrick Donleavy by Gordon Stuart;
- (ii) portrait of Professor Barbara Wright by Andrew Festing, commissioned by the Board.

C.3 Permissions – Request to Borrow Manuscripts by National Gallery of Ireland to note and approve memorandum from the Librarian, dated 21 April 2006.

C.4 Sealings to be noted.

C.5 Calendar Entries to note and approve memoranda from the Treasurer as follows:

- (i) W Henry Naylor and Henrietta Mary Downes Bursary, dated 12 April 2006;
- (ii) Law School Prizes Butterworths, dated 25 April 2006;
- (iii) Eamonn O'Coine Award and Peter Gatenby Award, dated 25 April 2006.

^{*} enclosed for members only – circulated to Council meeting of 12 April 2006.

C.6 Prizes and Other Awards

- (i) Canadian Studies Travel Scholarship 2005-2006 to note and approve the award of the Canadian Studies Travel Scholarship for 2005-2006 to Mr D Mac Síthigh (05173248), value: €1,400.
- (ii) Esther J Luker and Maude Cobbe Bursary 2005/-6 to note and approve the award of this bursary to Mr Simon Burdus (Girton College, Cambridge), value €500;
- (iii) Home Hewson Award 2005/06 to note and approve the recommendation of Ms Sifan Chen (05157277), for this award, value €2,500.
- **C.7 Assistants to the Junior Dean** to note and approve the appointment of the following, for the remainder of the academic year 2005-2006 and for the academic year 2006-2007:

Mr C Assambo

Ms J Fearon

Ms D Jones

Dr A Khan

Ms A O'Driscoll

Mr B O'Hora

Mr J O'Gorman

Dr K Thomas

Ms M Woodbyrne

- C.8 Tutorship to note and approve the nomination of Mr Michael Coughlan (School of Nursing and Midwifery) to replace Ms Honor Nicholl, from 8 May 2006.
- C.9 Faculty of Health Sciences Ethics Group (Calendar B140) to note and approve the following changes in the membership:
 Dr P Cronin (Nursing and Midwifery) to be replaced by Dr S
 O'Donnell (Nursing and Midwifery);
 Dr K Halley (Psychology) has resigned from the group;
 Dr O Sheils (Histopathology, School of Medicine) has joined the group

C.10 Nominations for Appointment

- **C.11 Nominating Committees** to note the following memberships:
 - (i) CRANN Research Manager Administrative Grade 3/2 contract of indefinite duration

Professor I Boland

Dr D O'Brien

Dr C Kelly

Mr M Shaw (Intel)

(ii) Science Gallery – Director – contract of indefinite duration

Professor J M D Coey

Dr D O'Brien

Dr C Horn

Professor I H Robertson

Professor P Coxon

Ms D Tracey

(iii) Research and Innovation Services – Intellectual Property Project Officers (2) – Administrative Grade 2 (or for an exceptional candidate Admin 1) – contract of indefinite duration

Dr E P O'Neill

Professor J Corish

Dr D Lloyd

Dr M Woods

Dr I O Iones

Dr T Glynn (DCU)

(iv) School of Nursing and Midwifery – Allocations Officer – Administrative Grade 1 – permanent

Assistant Secretary

Dr F Timmins

Ms F Neill

Mr F O'Rourke

Mr M McKeown (DCU)

(v) Secretary's Office – Internal Auditor – Administrative

Grade 1 – permanent

Assistant Secretary

Professor J G McGilp

Dr F E Bannister

Mr F Sheeran

Mr B Ruddy (DIT)

(vi) Senior Tutor's Office - Administrative/Student Support

Officer - Administrative Grade 2 - permanent

Senior Tutor

Secretary to the College

Dean of Students

Mr V Lennon (IT Tallaght)

(vii) Staff Office (Recruitment Section) - Administrative

Grade 3/2 – 1-year contract

Assistant Secretary

Staff Secretary

Professor G Whyte

Ms A Taylor

(viii) Communications Office - Communications Officer -

Administrative Grade 2/1 – 8-month contract

Assistant Secretary

Communications Officer

Dr C F Brady

(ix) Director of Buildings Office – Deputy Director – Senior

Administrative Grade 2 - permanent

Bursar

Secretary to the College

Director of Buildings

Librarian

Professor J H Ohlmeyer

Mr J Gibney (NUI Galway)