The University of Dublin

Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 5 April 2006 at **10.30** am in the Board Room.

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 10.15 am

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

- A.1 Minutes Meeting of 1 March 2006.
- A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes
- A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 IMI Issues

Memorandum from Dr G McHugh, dated March 2006. Dr G McHugh will attend.

A.5 PMDS (see Minute BD/05-06/178 of 1 March 2006) Memorandum from the Staff Secretary, dated 27 March 2006. *The Staff Secretary will attend*

A.6 ARAM – Progress Report

- (i) Memorandum from the Bursar, dated 24 March 2006;
- (ii) Explanatory Booklet ARAM Outcomes, dated March 2006;
- (iii) Dean of Research An Overview of Science Foundation Ireland Overhead Investment Plan, dated 27 March 2006. The Dean of Research will attend
- A.7 Statutes Chapter XIII and Chapter XXVI Council Membership Memorandum from the Registrar, dated 29 March 2006.
- A.8 Fellowship 2006 Provost to report.
- A.9 Marino Institute of Education Registrar and Secretary to report.
- A.10 Acta of the University Council Meeting of 8 March 2006.
- A.11 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Finance Committee

- (i) Draft Minutes of meeting of 22 March 2006;
- (ii) Financial Reporting Draft Statements to accompany Accounts for 2002-2003 and 2003-2004.

B.2 Information Policy Committee

- (i) Draft Minutes of meeting of 21 February 2006;
- (ii) IS Services Annual Report 2004-2005.

B.3 Personnel and Appointments Committee

- (i) Draft Minutes of meeting of 30 November 2005;
- (ii) Draft Minutes of meeting of 8 February 2006.

B.4 Site and Facilities Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 21 March 2006.

*enclosed for members only – circulated to Council meeting of 8 March 2006.

Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- **C.1 Higher Degrees** to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 27 February 2006.
- C.2 Sealing to be noted.
- **C.3 Draft HEA Verification Letter** to note and approve letter from the Provost to the HEA, dated 6 April 2006.
- C.4 CRANN Science Gallery to note memorandum from the Director, Trinity Foundation, dated 28 March 2006.
- **C.5** Staff Matters Early Retirement to note and approve the early retirement of Mr P Yung (Physiotherapy) on 31 March 2006, on a historic benefits basis.

C.6 **Prizes and other Awards** to note and approve the following:

- (i) **Mackay Wilson Fund** an award of €2,200 each to: Ms A Bunyan (02402246) and Ms K Lawlor (04812506);
- (ii) Taverners' Cricket Sports Bursary an award of €356 to Mr D W Hanaphy (03045951);
- (iii) Amended Criteria for Gold Medals memorandum from the Senior Lecturer, dated 29 March 2006.
- **C.7 Committees Student Counselling Committee** to note and approve the nomination of Professor J A N Parnell as the Board's representative on this committee.
- C.8 Students' Union 2006-2007 to note that the following were elected: President: Mr D Quinn* Deputy President: Mr S Hall Education Officer: Mr R Kearns* Welfare Officer: Ms D Keogh* Entertainments Officer: Mr B Murphy *will be members of Board, 2006-2007.

C.9 Nominations for Appointment

C.10 Trinity Ball 2006 to approve the holding of the Trinity Ball on 12 May 2006.

- **C.11 Calendar** to note and approve the following:
 - Miscellaneous Awards S59, Financial Assistance T1-3 memorandum from the Senior Tutor's Office, dated 27 February 2006;
 - (ii) **General Regulations** memorandum from the Junior Dean and Senior Dean, dated 21 February 2006;
 - Public Lectures The Millennium Development Goals Lectures memorandum from the Head of School of Social Sciences and Philosophy, dated 23 March 2006;
 - (iv) **Prizes**
 - (a) **David Feldman Prize** to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 22 February 2006;
 - (b) **Terence Gorman Postgraduate Prizes/Harry Hartford Prize** to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 22/27 February 2006;
 - (c) The 1983 Prize in Biblical Greek/Lambert Prize/Newport White Prize to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 10 March 2006;
 - (d) **The Gerard Victory Composition Prize** to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 7 March 2006.
- **C.12** Scholarship Requests for Intermission to note and approve the request of the Senior Lecturer that the following Foundation (F) and Non-Foundation Scholars (NF) be permitted to intermit their Scholarships:

		academic	year of
	Student No	year	intermission
(i)	00003557 (F)	2006/7	3 rd
(ii)	00029921 (F)	2006/7	3rd
(iii)	00052086 (F)	2006/7	2 nd
(iv)	00730823 (F)	2006/7	3rd
(v)	00323276 (NF)	2006/7	3rd
(vi)	01100203 (NF)	2006/7	2 nd
(vii)	01100378 (NF)	2006/7	2 nd
(viii)	01363646 (NF)	2006/7	2 nd
(ix)	01923587 (NF)	2006/7	2 nd
(x)	03170365 (NF)	2005/6	3rd

- C.13 Nominating Committees to note the following memberships:
 - (i) SFI/CRANN Administrative Officer (Grade 3/2), halftime, (1 year contract) Professor J M D Coey Dr D O'Brien Ms M Kinsella
 (ii) TCIN - Executive Director - Senior Administrative Grade 3/2 (contract of indefinite duration) Professor M A Lynch Professor M Rowan Professor S M O'Mara Dr D O'Brien Dr D Lloyd
 - Dr P Meulien (DMMC)

Staff Office (Recruitment Section) - Administrative (iii) Officer (Grade 3/2) (maternity cover) Assistant Secretary to the College Staff Secretary Prof G Whyte Ms A Taylor Treasurer's Office (Research Accounts) - Administrative (iv) Officer (Grade 3/2) (contract of indefinite duration) **Deputy Treasurer** Manager, Research Accounts Deputy Manager, Research Accounts Professor M M O'Mahony Mr S Manual (UCD) Treasurer's Office - ARAM Administrative Officer (v) (Grade 3/2) (permanent) Treasurer Bursar Senior Lecturer Professor J G Lunney Ms H Miller (UCD) (vi) Treasurer's Office - Procurement Officer (Admin 3/2) (permanent) **Deputy Treasurer** Mr M Ryan Mr B Hartnett Dr H Delany Mr D Gaynor (NUI Maynooth) (vii) **CRANN – Education and Outreach Project Officers** (Admin 3/2) (contract of indefinite duration) Professor J M D Coey Dr D O'Brien Dr C Stephens Ms J Patterson (Intel) (viii) TCIN – Research Radiographer – Administrative Grade 2 (contract of indefinite duration) Dr H Garavan Dr C Kerskens Dr A Fagan Dr S Carton (National Rehabilitation Hospital)

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board