The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 1 February 2006 **10.30** am in the Board Room.

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meetings of:

- (i) 13 December 2005;
- (ii) 25 January 2006.

A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 HEA Funding Model

- (i) Letter from the HEA, dated 22 December 2005.
- (ii) Draft response from the Provost, dated 23 January 2006.

A.5 Strategic Plan

Vice-Provost to report.

A.6 Task Forces 1 and 2

Chairs to report.

A.7 Panel of Enquiry

Secretary to report.

A.8 Statutes – Chapter XIII – The University Council

Registrar to report.

A.9 Acta of the University Council

Meeting of 13 January 2006.

A.10 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Information Policy Committee

Draft Minutes of meetings of

- (i) 14 December 2005;
- (ii) 16 January 2006.

B.2 Personnel and Appointments Committee

- (i) Draft Minutes of meeting of 11 January 2006;
- (ii) Roles and Responsibilities of Head of School/Vice-Deans in relation to Staff Matters (see Minute PAC 2005-06/105).

B.3 Site and Facilities Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 17 January 2006.

B.4 Student Services Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 17 November 2005.

Page 2

Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

C.1 Research Committee – Policy on Research Groupings in Trinity College Dublin

Memorandum from the Dean of Research, dated 11 January 2006, and Policy document, dated December 2005.

- **C.2 Higher Degrees** to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 16 January 2006.
- C.3 Statute on Student Discipline to note that the Visitors have approved the Ordinance to amend Chapter VII, Section 13 and Chapter XII, Section 23 and to approve that the date for implementation of the regulations will be 1 November 2006.
- **C.4 Sealings** to be noted.
- **C.5 Resignation** to note the resignation from Fellowship and from the College of Dr J C Sexton (School of Mathematics), with effect from 30 September 2005.
- C.6 Senate Master in Arts (*jure officii*)
 Memorandum from the Registrar, dated 25 January 2006.

C.7 Prizes and Other Awards

- (i) to note and approve the award of the following prizes:
 - (a) **Taylor Exhibition Prize** Mr George Henry Jackson (0592651);
 - (b) **Biggs Memorial Prize** Mr Richard Northridge (02908786).
- (ii) Change of Name of Antigen Prize in Pharmaceutics to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 23 January 2006.

C.8 Committees

- (i) Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees to note that Professor R A Stalley and Professor J A Fitzpatrick have been nominated to the membership of this committee, in place of Professor D Kennedy and Professor D L Weaire.
- (ii) **Information Policy Committee** to note that Bursar will chair this committee in place of the Vice-Provost with effect from 21 February 2006.
- C.9 Administrative and Library Staff Review Committee to note and approve recommendations from the meeting of 16 December 2005, as set out in a memorandum from the Staff Secretary, dated 16 December 2005.
- C.10 Technical Staff Committee 2005 Review to note and approve recommendations, as set out in a memorandum from the Staff Relations Manager, dated 23 January 2006.

C.11 Nominations for Appointment

C.12 Nominating Committees to note the following memberships:

(i) Director of Research and Innovation (Senior

Administrative Grade 1) (permanent)
Dean of Research

Bursar

Secretary

Professor D P A Kelleher

Professor M A Lynch

Professor E Kennedy (DCU)

(ii) Student Counselling Service – Administrative Officer (Grade 1) (half-time) (permanent)

Dean of Students

Ms A FitzGerald

Director of Student Counselling Service

Mr R Foley (UCD)

(iii) School of Natural Sciences – School Administrator (Grade 3/2) (permanent)

Dean of Science

Professor D Taylor

Professor M B Jones

Academic Secretary

Ms M Malone (DIT)

(iv) Senior Lecturer's Area – Admissions Liaison Officer (Grade 3/2) (permanent)

Ms P Callaghan

Ms S Power

Professor J Quinn

Mr P Shearer (UCD)

(v) Senior Lecturer/Consultant Psychiatrist – St James's

Hospital/TCD (6/5) (permanent)*

Pro-Dean of Health Sciences (Professor T C O'Dowd)

Professor A M Gill

Professor B Lawlor

Professor S M O'Mara

Professor R M J Byrne (St James's Hospital Board)

Dr A M O'Dwyer (St James's Hospital Medical Board)

Mr J O'Neill (HSE)

Professor T Dinan (UCC)

Professor N Craddock (Wales)

*as the Council meeting scheduled for 18 January 2006 was cancelled, the Board is asked to approve this membership as a matter of urgency

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board