The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 26 October 2005 at <u>**10.30**</u> am in the Board Room.

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of 28 September 2005.

A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

Student Representation on School/Vice-Deanery Executives (see Actum CL/05-06/015 of 12 October 2005)

- (i) Senior Lecturer's memorandum, dated 20 October 2005.
- Memorandum from the Students' Union and Graduate Students' Union, dated 5 October 2005;
- (iii) Memorandum from the Students' Union and the Graduate Students' Union (Additional Comments related to (ii) above) dated 20 October 2005.

A.3 Provost's Report

- A.4 Staff Disciplinary Panel Registrar to report.
- A.5 Statute on Student Discipline Memorandum from the Registrar, dated 19 October 2005, and document (circulated to Board on 15 June 2005).
- A.6 Property Matters 5 & 6 Foster Place Memorandum from Acting Director of Buildings, dated 19 October 2005.
- **A.7 Research-related Multi-institutional Arrangements** *Dean of Research to attend*

A.8 Acta of the University Council

- (i) Meeting of 12 October 2005;
- (ii) Meeting of 14 October 2005.
- A.9 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Audit Committee

Draft Minutes of meeting of 4 October 2005.

B.2 Finance Committee

Draft Minutes of meetings

- (i) 5 October 2005;
- (ii) 19 October 2005.
- **B.3 Personnel and Appointments Committee** Draft Minutes of meeting of:

- (i) 1 July 2005;
- (ii) 7 July 2005;
- (iii) 27 July 2005 (approved under Vacation Procedures)
- (iv) 31 August 2005 (approved under Vacation Procedures;
- (v) 22 September 2005.

Circulated with Council papers for meeting of 12 October 2005

B.4 Site and Facilities Committee

Draft minutes of meeting of 11 October 2005.

B.5 Student Services Committee

- (i) Draft minutes of meeting of 30 June 2005;
- (ii) Draft minutes of meeting of 5 July 2005.

Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- C.1 Senior Fellowship to note that the Senior Fellows have co-opted Dr R J Hill and Dr D J McConnell to Senior Fellowship and that Dr J M Kelly proceeds to the office of Senior Master Non-Regent.
- C.2 Personal Chair Title to note and approve the title of the Personal Chair to be held by Professor R M J Byrne, as 'Professor of Cognitive Science (2005)'
- C.3 Administrative and Library Staff Review Committee Recommendations to note and approve recommendations, as set out in a memorandum from the Secretary, Administrative and Library Staff Review Committee, dated 17 October 2005.
- **C.4 Higher Degrees** to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 27 September 2005.
- **C.5 Sealing** to be noted.
- C.6 Prizes and Other Awards
 - (i) **Postgraduate Travelling Scholarship in Surgery** to note the recommendation of this award for 2005, together with the Sheppard Memorial Prize and the Edward Hallaran Bennett Medal to Mr Brian Mehigan.
 - (ii) Gold Medals Senior Lecturer's report.
- **C.7 Financial Assistance Committee Recommendations** to note and approve awards made for the academic year 2004-2005.
- C.8 Headships to note and approve the following nominations:
 - (i) School of Linguistic, Speech and Communication Sciences Professor D G Little, 2005-2008;
 - (ii) **Head of Discipline, Department of Philosophy** Dr J Levine, 2005-2008;
 - (iii) Acting Head of Physiotherapy Ms J Hussey, 2005-2006.

C.9 Audit of Financial Statements – Letter of Engagement from KPMG to note and approve the terms of a Letter of Engagement from KPMG Chartered Accountants, dated 4 October 2005.

C.10 Representation

- (i) Marino Institute of Education to note and approve the nomination of Dr D F McAleese as the College's representative on the Governing Authority of the Marino Institute of Education.
- (ii) Irish Universities Quality Board to note the incorporation of the Irish Universities Quality Board as a company limited by guarantee and to approve the membership of the incorporated body IUQB as being the universities, represented in each case by the President or Provost, as appropriate. The Memorandum and Articles of Association are enclosed.
- (iii) Central Applications Office to approve the nomination of Professor C Kearney, Senior Lecturer, as the College's representative to the Central Applications Office, and as a Director of the Company.
- (iv) Dublin Molecular Medicine Centre to approve the nomination of Dr D Lloyd, Associate Dean of Research as a Director of the DMMC in place of Dr I H Robertson, Dean of Research.
- C.11 Scholarship Requests to Intermit to note and approve the request of the Senior Lecturer that the following non-Foundation Scholars be permitted to intermit their Scholarships in 2005-2006 and 2006-2007, constituting a second and third year of intermission, having previously intermitted in 2004-2005:
 - (i) 99329719;
 - (ii) 99901145.

C.12 Nominations for Appointment

C.13 Nominating Committees to note the following memberships:

Director of International Student Affairs - permanent (i) Registrar Professor R A Stalley Professor J B Grimson Dr G McHugh Secretary to the College Academic Secretary Director of International Student Affairs, York University (ii) **Director of Buildings** Bursar Secretary to the College Treasurer Professor J F McGilp Professor J H Ohlmeyer Mr A Currie (Edinburgh) (iii) School of Medicine - Temporary Part-time Administrative Officer Grade 3 Pro-Dean of Health Sciences (Professor K P Conlon) Ms J Byrne Ms J H Walsh Ms F McNamara

(iv) Treasurer's Office - Financial Advisors (Administrative Officers - Grade 2) - 3-year contracts Deputy Treasurer Ms J Byrne Professor J A Fitzpatrick Ms J Walsh School of Humanities and Histories - School (v) Administrator (Grade 3/2) - permanent Professor J H Ohlmeyer Dr C Morris Dr M K Simms Dr P D McEvansoneya Dr M Valiulis Academic Secretary Ms S McLennan (Aberdeen) School of Engineering - Administrative Officer (Grade (vi) 3/2) – 2-year contract Secretary to the College Professor J A Fitzpatrick Professor M M O'Mahony Professor F M Boland School Administrator School of Social Sciences and Philosophy - School (vii) Administrator (Grade 3/2) - Permanent Professor M A Marsh Professor B Holton Academic Secretary Ms G Davidson (ESRI) School of Computer Science and Statistics - School (viii) Administrator (Grade 1) - Permanent Dr D M Abrahamson Dr F E Bannister Professor J B Grimson Academic Secretary Ms M Kidney (ix) Senior Lecturer's Area - Alumni and Proctors' Office -Administrative Officer (Grade 2) - 6 month contract to note the following membership: Assistant Academic Secretary Professor J V Scattergood Ms L Coady Mr R Otway-Norwood

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board