The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 28 September 2005 at **11.00** am in the Board Room.

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 10.45 am

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of meeting of 6 July 2005.

A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 Senior Promotions Committee

Recommendations from meeting of 21 September 2005.

A.5 Principal Committees

Registrar to report.

A.6 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Site and Facilities Committee

Proposed Terms of Reference, arising from meeting held on 8 March 2005.

Section C - Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

C.1 Board of Trinity College

- (i) Nominee of the Minister for Education and Science to note that Ms Geraldine M Clarke had been nominated in accordance with Section 3 (2) (h) of the Trinity College, Dublin(Charters and Letters Patent Amendment) Act, 2000;
- (ii) **List of Members** to note the list of members, 2005-2008-10;
- (iii) Dates of Meetings of Board [revised] and Council for noting.

C.2 Governance: Verification Letter to the HEA

Memorandum from the Provost, dated 21 September 2005

C.3 Committees, Subcommittees of Principal Committees and Other Committees

Memorandum from the Registrar, dated 19 September 2005.

C.4 Sealings to be noted.

- **C.5 Acting Headship of Department** to note that Dr J Barkhoff would serve as acting Head of Department during Professor Moray McGowan's leave of absence for Michaelmas term 2005-2006.
- C.6 Prizes and Other Awards School of Physic Prizes and Medals
 2005 to note and approve memorandum from the Faculty of Health
 Sciences, dated 17 August 2005.

C.7 Bequests and Benefactions

- (i) Mary Maureen Pollard Deceased to note that under the terms of the Last Will and Testament of Dr Pollard her entire collection of early 18th and 19th century children's books have been bequeathed to the College subject to the following conditions: (a) that the collection is preserved by the College in its entirety, with power to add to but not to diminish it and (b) that IR£75,000 'or such greater (but not lesser) sum as will yield an annual income of not less (but possibly more) than IR€3,500 per annum (and in the event of such income falling short in anyone year the same to be supplemented by Trinity College) into a scholarship fund to support postgraduate work in Irish bibliography as defined by the Keeper for the time being of Early Printed Books.
- (ii) Homan Potterton Prize/Lisa Sexton Memorial Award to note and approve memoranda from the Treasurer, dated 15 July 2005 and 20 July 2005.
- (iii) Meath Hospital Medal to note the re-institution of the Meath Hospital Medal, and to approve the following *Calendar* entry:

 'Meath Hospital Medal. The Medal is awarded to the student achieving the highest score in the clinical component of the final medical examinations in both Clinical Medicine and surgery.'

C.8 Nominations for Appointment

- C.9 Dublin Molecular Medicine Centre to note that on 25 April 2005 an Agreement was entered into by the University of Dublin (Trinity College, Dublin), University College Dublin, National University of Ireland, Dublin, the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland, and the Dublin Molecular Medicine Centre in respect of the following actions:
 - a collaborative programme of research in molecular medicine until at least 2012;
 - (ii) Governance of the company in accordance with the Articles of Association which have been amended to accommodate RCSI's equal ownership;
 - (iii) the management of the company by the Board of Directors (reflecting parity of ownership by the Directors);
 - (iv) to operate the DMMC in accordance with its Operating Principles.
- **C.10 Tutorship** to note and approve memorandum from the Senior Tutor, dated 19 September 2005.

C.11 Nominating Committees to note the following memberships:

(i) Senior Lecturer's Area (Examinations Office) -

Administrative Officer (Grade 3/2) – Examinations and Timetables (Permanent)

Assistant Academic Secretary

Examinations and Timetables Officer

Mr B Tangney

Ms G Wilson (UCD)

(ii) Senior Lecturer's Area – Manager, Academic

Development (Senior Administrative Grade 3) (3-year contract)

Secretary to the College

Senior Lecturer

Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Systems Sciences

Academic Secretary

Ms S Huntley Moore

C.12 Vacation Procedures to note that the following matters were dealt with under Vacation Procedures:

(i) Deans, Vice-Deans, Heads of Schools.

Disciplines/Departments The following were elected, 13

July 2005-12 July 2008 (except where otherwise stated):

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Dean: Professor T P McC Brown

School of Humanities and Histories

Head of School: Professor J H Ohlmeyer (13 July 2005-12

July 2009);

Heads of Discipline/Department

- Classics: Dr C E Morris
- History: Dr M K Simms
- History of Art: Dr P McEvansoneya
- Irish and Celtic Languages: Professor D P B McManus (13 July 2005-12 July 2006);

Vice-Deanery

Vice-Dean: Professor V J Scattergood

Faculty of Social and Human Sciences

Dean: Dr P P Walsh

School of Social Sciences and Philosophy

Head of Discipline/Department (Acting)

 Political Science: Professor M Gallagher (from 13 July 2005, pending election in Michaelmas term)

School of Psychology

Head of School: Dr H V Smith (13 July 2005-12 July 2009);

Vice-Deanery

Acting Vice-Dean: Dr H Delany (Michaelmas term 2005, pending election);

 Law – Acting Head: Professor G F Whyte (Michaelmas term 2005, pending election)

Faculty of Engineering and Systems Sciences

Heads of Discipline/Department

- Civil, Structural and Environmental Engineering: Dr M M O'Mahony
- Computer Science: Professor J B Grimson
- Statistics: Dr F Bannister

Faculty of Science

Heads of Discipline/Department

- Geography: Professor P Coxon
- Inorganic and Synthetic Materials Chemistry: Dr S M Draper
- Organic, Medical and Biological Chemistry: Professor M Senge
- Physical, Computational and Materials Chemistry: Dr G Watson
- (ii) Refurbishment of Front Square Residences (see BD/04-05/129 of 14 December 2004) The firm of Messrs Patrick Brock has been appointed to carry out the works.
- (iii) Assistant Reserve Junior Deans 2005-2006 Assistant and reserve Junior Deans were appointed, as set out in a memorandum from the Junior Dean, dated 16 August 2005.
- (iv) Tutorship Tutors were appointed, as set out in memoranda from the Senior Tutor, dated 15 July and 4 August 2005.
- (v) Nominations for Appointment (under Vacation Procedures)
- (vi) Scholarship Permission to Intermit The following were granted permission to intermit in 2005-2006 for a second year of intermission:
 - (a) 00672823 (having previously intermitted in 2002-2003);
 - (b) 00029921 (having previously intermitted in 2004-2005).
- (vii) **Nominating Committees** The following committees were approved:
 - (a) Assistant Librarian (Bibliographic Data
 Management Department) (Permanent) Librarian;
 Assistant Librarian; Keeper Collection Management;
 Dr J Doherty; Ms F Tipple (UCD)
 - (b) **Assistant Librarian (Nursing) (3-year Contract)** Librarian; Deputy Librarian; Keeper, Readers' Services; Dr G McKee; Ms A Healy
 - (c) Student Counsellor Administrative Grade 1 (5-year Contract): Secretary to the College; Dean of Students; Director of Student Counselling, Dr S O'Brien, Ms A Naughton; Mr P Moriarty (UCC).
 - (d) Engineering Services Manager (Permanent):
 Secretary to the College; Acting Director of
 Buildings; Professor D B Murray; Mr M Poland
 (UCC).

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board