The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a Special meeting of the Board on Wednesday 29 June 2005 at **9 am** in the Board Room.

Please note earlier time

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 8.45 am

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Minutes

Meeting of 15 June 2005.

A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 Dean of Students: Report to Board

Circulated with papers for meeting of 15 June 2005 The Dean of Students will attend.

A.5 Governance

- (i) Support Services Structures
 - Memorandum from the Provost, dated 29 June 2005.
- (ii) Structures, Budgeting and Resource Allocation in Support Services: General Context and 'Roadmap' for Change Discussion Paper for Board Meeting of 29th June 2005 from the Senior Lecturer and Bursar, dated 23 June 2005.

A.6 Policy, Practice and Regulations on Intellectual Property (see Board Minute 15/352 of 7 July 2004)

Document from the Director of Innovation Services and the Technology Transfer Manager.

The Director of Innovation Services will attend for this item. Deferred from meeting of 15 June 2005

A.7 Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees

Registrar to report.

A.8 Partnership

Memorandum from the Secretary, Partnership Committee, dated 15 April 2005.

Deferred from meeting of 11 May 2005.

A.9 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Audit Committee

Draft Minutes of Meeting of 17 June 2005.

Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- C.1 Staff Matter Early Retirement to note and approve early retirement for Mrs Dolores Murphy (Secretary's Office), with effect from 31 July 2005, on a cost-neutral basis.
- **C.2 Proctors' Lists for First Summer Commencements** to note that the Proctors' Lists were approved by the sub-committee of Board and Council on 14 June 2005.
- **C.3 Schools, Vice-Deaneries and Disciplines** to note that the following have been elected:
 - (i) Head of School of Natural Sciences: Professor D Taylor, 2005-2008;
 - (ii) Vice-Dean of Genetics and Microbiology: Professor D J McConnell, 2005-2008;
 - (iii) Head of Discipline of Botany: Professor M B Jones, 2005-2008.
- **C.4 Acting Headship of School of Pharmacy** to note that Dr M Meegan would act as Head of School from 20 June to 25 July 2005.
- C.5 Prizes and Other Awards A J Leventhal Scholarship 2005 to note and approve the recommendations of the Selection Committee as follows:
 Ms A Boden (€2,150)
 Ms L Gilleece (€1,045)
- C.6 Representation Board of Froebel College of Education to note and approve the nomination of Ms E E Oldham as the College's representative on the Board of the Froebel College of Education, Sion Hill, for three years from September 2005.
- C.7 Scholarship Intermission to note that a non-Foundation Scholar, 99342821, does not now seek intermission (see BD/04-05/287 (iii) of 11 May 2005)

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board