# The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 29 September 2004 at 11.00 am in the Board Room.

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 10.45 am

**AGENDA** 

Apologies

#### Section A

#### A.1 Minutes

Meeting of 7 July 2004.

## A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes

#### A.3 Provost's Report

- (a) Restructuring/Resource Allocations Model Schedule for Implementation
- (b) Finance/Budgetary Issues 2004-2005
- (c) **OECD Report Review of Higher Education in Ireland**Conclusion and Recommendations are enclosed, full report available at:

http://www.hea.ie/index.cfm/page/publications/category/143/section/details/id/795

- (d) **HEA Reports**
- (e) Senior Promotions Committee Outcome

## A.4 Capital Projects

Bursar to report.

#### A.5 Acta of the University Council

Meeting of 15 September 2004.

## A.6 Any Other Urgent Business

#### **Section B**

#### B.1 College Safety Committee – Annual Report 2003-2004

## Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- **C.1 Senior Master Non-Regent** to note that Professor R J Hill succeeds to the office of Senior Master Non-Regent from 30 September 2004.
- **C.2 Proctors' Lists for Second Summer Commencements** to note that the Proctors' Lists were approved by the sub-committee of Board and Council on 6 July 2004.
- **C.3 Sealings** to be noted.
- **C.4 Headship of Department Physiotherapy (Acting)** to note the nomination of Ms J M Hussey, for 2004-05.

- C.5 Panels of Enquiry to note that in accordance with the powers devolved by Board at its meeting of 7 July 2004, the Provost and the Senior Lecturer, having considered the reports from the Panels of Enquiry in respect of four named students, adopted these reports in accordance with Schedule II, paragraph 43 of Chapter XII of the Consolidated Statutes.
- **C.6 Resignation** to note the resignation of Professor N J White from the Chair of Geology and Mineralogy (1843), with effect from 30 September 2004.

#### C.7 Prizes and Other Awards

- (a) Postgraduate Travelling Scholarship in Surgery (2004) to note and approve the award of the 2004 Postgraduate Travelling Scholarship in Surgery, together with the Sheppard Memorial Prize and the Edward Hallaran Bennett Medal in Surgery to Dr Siún M Murphy;
- (b) **Edmund Burke Fund** to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 12 July 2004;
- (c) Madeleine Farrell Prize in Philosophy of Mind to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 4 August 2004.

#### C.8 Bequests and Benefactions

- (a) **Collection of Recordings** to note with appreciation the gift of a collection of 78 and LP jazz recordings (plus some books), the collection of Dr Franz C W Winkelmann, former Treasurer of the College.
- (b) **Sculpture** to note with appreciation the gift of the sculpture, 'Chac Mool' by Sebastián, donated by the artist and unveiled by HE Mr Agustín Basave, Ambassador of Mexico, on 8 September 2004.
- (c) **Professor G W P Dawson (Deceased)** to note a memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 20 September 2004;
- (d) **Estate of Dr M Knight (Deceased)** to note memoranda from the Treasurer, dated 16 July and 24 August 2004;
- (e) **Ms Ethel Davis (Deceased)** to note a memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 4 August 2004.

## **C.9 Committees** to note the following nominations:

- (a) **Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees** Mr G McHugh to replace Professor D McAleese.
- (b) Graduate Studies Committee Dr L Alweiss to replace Dr M Valiulis; Professor T P McC Brown to replace Professor D Singleton; Dr B M Lucey to replace Dr J McDonagh (for 2004-05 only); Professor V Cahill to replace Dr T L L Orr.
- (c) **College Safety Committee** to note that the Students' Union representative on the committee was now the Welfare Officer (in place of the President).
- C.10 Trinity Foundation Funding (see Board Minute 13/345 of 10 July 2002) to note and approve a memorandum from the Secretary, dated 15 July 2004.

#### C.11 Representation

- (a) **Dublin Institute of Technology** to note that Professor D J Dickson, Registrar, replaces Professor R A Stalley as a member of the Governing Body of the Dublin Institute of Technology, with effect from 13 July 2004.
- (b) Dublin Molecular Medicine Centre to note that Professor I H Robertson replaces Professor M J Gibney as the College's nominee on the Board of the DMMC with effect from 13 July 2004.
- **C.12 Administrative and Library Staff Review Committee** to note and approve recommendations, dated 22 September 2004.
- **C.13 Vacation Procdures** to note the following, which had been approved under vacation procedures:
  - (a) Headship of Departments
    - (i) Classics Dr C Morris acting head Michaelmas term 2004 (during Professor Nelis's leave of absence);
    - (ii) Medieval History Professor C E Meek acting head from 13 July 2004 – pending an election in Michaelmas term;
    - (iii) **Music** Mr W M Taylor, from 13 July 2004 for up to three years to 12 July 2007;
    - (iv) Political Science Professor M A Marsh acting head from 13 July 2004 – pending an election in Michaelmas term.
  - (b) **Tutorship** (from 1 October)

replaces Dr J Doherty (Russian) Dr C Leahy Dr M Gormley (Psychology) Ms C Poulter Dr M R Gale (Classics) Dr M H Adams Dr B O'Rourke (CLCS)/Dr D O'Neill Mr E O'Dell (Education) Ms H Coughlan (Social Studies) Dr R Chari Ms F Timmins (Nursing and Dr M Glacken Midwifwery) Professor D C Williams (half chamber) Dr I Rozas Dr C K Simms (Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering) and Dr C Newman (Economics) to replace Dr

#### (c) Staff Matters

A Quinn.

- (i) Career Break Mr C Condon's previously approved career break of one year to be deferred to 20 September (from 1 September);
- (ii) **Early Retirement** Ms P Stotter (Irish School of Ecumenics) from 30 September 2004, on a cost neutral basis.
- (d) Prizes and Other Awards
  - (i) **Julian Boldy Bursary** €500 each: Mr E Minet; Mr B O'Driscoll; Ms C Duggan.
  - (ii) **Dave Johnston Memorial Fund** €500: Ms J
  - (iii) Esther J Luker and Maude Cobbe Bursar 2003-04 Ms G Carney, value €1,000.
- (e) Scholarship Intermission of Non-Foundation Scholarship Permission was granted to the following to intermit:

- (i) 98000241 to intermit for 2004-05, having previously intermitted in 2002 and 2003;
- (ii) 99342821to intermit for 2004-05 and 2005-06, having previously intermitted in 2003-04.

# **C.13** Nominations for Appointment

C.14 Nominating Committee – Treasurer's Office – Administrative
Officer (General Ledger Section) – Permanent to approve the
following membership:
Deputy Treasurer
Ms J Byrne
Professor D C Williams
Director of Information Systems Services

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board

Ms K Tracey (CHIU)