The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 18 December 2002 at **11.00** am in the Board Room.

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 10.45 am

Consideration of item A.1, including a presentation by the Chairman of the Audit Committee, will take place in the Provost's Library at 11 am

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

A.1 Governance Procedures

Letter from the Chairman of the Audit Committee, dated 21 November 2002 and accompanying report.

A.2 Minutes

Meeting of 20 November 2002.

A.3 Matters Arising from the Minutes

A.4 Provost's Report

A.5 Acta of the University Council

Meeting of 4 December 2002.

A.6 Haughton Institute

Letter from the Chairman of the Audit Committee, dated 13 November 2002 and accompanying report (the appendices associated with this report are available for consultation by Board members in the Secretary's Office).

A.7 Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees

Registrar to report.

A.8 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

- **B.1 Finance Committee** to note and approve Minutes of meeting of 4 December 2002.
- **B.2 Site and Facilities Committee** to note and approve Minutes of meeting of 3 December 2002.
- **B.3** Audit Committee Annual Report 2002

Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- **C.1 Senior Fellowship** to note that Dr D J Simms has been co-opted to fill the current vacancy.
- C.2 Personnel and Appointments Committee (see Actum 19/A of 4 December 2002) to note and approve recommendations from meeting of 25 November 2002.
- **C.3 Sealings** to be noted.
- **C.4 Higher Degrees** to note Higher Degrees, approved by the subcommittee of Board and Council on 26 November and 3 December 2002.
- **C.5 Proctors' Lists for Winter Commencements** to note that the Proctors' Lists were approved by the sub-committee of Board on 3 December 2002.
- C.6 Nominations for Appointment
- C.7 Panel of Enquiry to note that Mr James Connolly, SC, will become Chairman of the Panel of Enquiry in place of Mr P Charleton, SC, who has resigned.
- C.8 Representation An Chomhairle Leabharlanna (The Library Council) to note the nomination of the Librarian (Mr R Adams) as the College's representative on An Chomhairle Leabharlanna.
- C.9 Chapel Committee to note that the following have been nominated as members of the above committee: Dr N Cox (staff representative), Ms M Dervan and Mr N Sloan (student representatives).
- C.10 Prizes and Other Awards
 - (a) **Entrance Exhibitions** to note further recommendations from the Senior Lecturer, 9 December 2002;
 - (b) **Elrington Scholarship** to note that Mr Fergal McCarthy has been recommended for this award, value €3,174;
 - (c) **Home Hewson Award** to note that Ms Roisin Maher has been recommended for this award, value €2,500.
- C.11 Graduate Students' Union Executive Committee for 2002-03 to note a letter from the Secretary to the Graduate Students' Union, dated 22 November 2002.
- C.12 Acting Headship of Department Medieval History 2002-03 to note the nomination of Dr M K Simms as Acting Head of the Department of Medieval History from January 2003.

- C.13 Tutorship to note that Mr B O'Rourke (Centre for Language and Communication Studies) replaces Dr G Martin (Germanic Studies); Dr J Walsh (Pharmacognosy) replaces Mr M Harrison (Economics).
- **C.14 Nominating Committees** to note and approve the following:
 - (a) Cancer Prevention Institute Project Manager (3-year contract)

Dean of Health Sciences

Professor C O'Morain

Professor K P C Conlon

Professor R Conroy

Dr H Enright

(b) Faculty of Health Sciences – Web Community Support (permanent – administrative 2-3) and Heads of School Support (permanent – administrative 2-3)

Dean of Health Sciences

Dr P Yung

Mr B Murray

Ms A Anderson

Ms A Flender

Mr D Motherway

(c) Secretary's Office – Web Designer (5 year contract)

Assistant Secretary

Mr M Nowlan

Dr S M McMurry

Ms M Horan

(d) Staff Office – Employee Benefits Administrator (3-year contract - administrative 2-3)

Staff Secretary

Staff Secretary (designate)

Ms L Power

Ms M Keating

Mr I Mathews

(e) Student Counselling Service – part-time Counsellor (3-year contract)

Dean of Arts (Humanities)

Senior Tutor

Dr M Daly

Ms D Flynn

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board