The University of Dublin Trinity College

There will be a meeting of the Board on Wednesday 25 September 2002 at **11.00** am in the Board Room.

Tea and coffee will be available in the Ante Room from 10.45 am

AGENDA

Apologies

Section A

- A.1 Minutes Meeting of 10 July 2002.
- A.2 Matters Arising from the Minutes
- A.3 Provost's Report

A.4 Capital Projects

- (a) North East Corner Memorandum from the Bursar, dated 18 September 2002;
- (b) **Pearse Street Development**

[The Director of Buildings will attend for this business.]

A.5 Governance of SFI Centres Memorandum and Interim Report from the Vice-Provost, dated 18 September 2002.

- A.6 Acta of the University Council Meeting of 12 July 2002.
- A.7 Advisory Committee on Honorary Degrees Registrar to report.
- A.8 Any Other Urgent Business

Section B

B.1 Site and Facilities Committee to note and approve Minutes of meeting of 10 September 2002.

Section C – Matters for Noting and Approval

Board members are asked to inform the Secretary if they wish discussion on any of the following. If not, the Provost will propose that they be noted and, where appropriate, that action proposed or reported be approved as presented.

- C.1 Proposed Records Management Policy to note and approve memorandum from the Freedom of Information Officer, dated 7 August 2002.
- C.2 Sealings to be noted.

- **C.3 Prizes and Other Awards** to note and approve the following recommendations from the Faculty of Science:
 - (a) **Technicon Research Fund** Mr Mikel Egana: €5,396.39;
 - (b) **Sarah Purser Research Fund** Ms Gwen Murphy: €6,348.69.
- **C.4 Bequests and Benefactions** to note and approve memorandum from the Treasurer, dated 28 August 2002.
- C.5 Nominations for Appointment
- **C.6 Board Sub-Committee on Staffing** to note and approve memorandum from the Staff Secretary, dated 18 September 2002.
- C.7 Board Membership to note that Mr Dylan Scannell would become a member of the Board with effect on and from 7 November 2002 in place of Ms Elizabeth Drew, as President of the Graduate Students' Union.
- **C.8 Nominating Committee Quality Officer** to note and approve the membership of the following committee:

Secretary Senior Lecturer Academic Secretary Dean of Engineering and Systems Sciences

- C.9 Representation Board of the Dublin Molecular Medicine Centre to note that Professor D B Shanley has been nominated to the Board of the DMMC in place of Professor J F Malone.
- C.10 Promotions Administrative and Library Staff Review Committee – 2002 Review to note and approve recommendations, dated 17 September 2002.
- **C.11 Promotions Technical Staff Committee 2002 Review** to note and approve recommendations, dated 18 September 2002.
- C.12 Acting Headship of Department Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine and Oral Pathology to note that Mr David Ryan and been appointed acting Head of Department in place of Dr Christine McCreary.
- C.13 **Tutorship** to note the following appointments: Ms Sandra Fleming and Mr Tom Noone (School of Nursing and Midwifery Studies); Ms Gabrielle McCann (Education) to part replace Dr Terry Barry, who has resigned his Tutorship.
- C.14 Committees of the Board Overseas Development Co-operation Committee to note and approve a change of name of 'Trinity Development Co-operation.
- **C.15 Vacation Procedures** to note that the following matters were dealt with under Vacation procedures:
 - (a) Faculty of Science Staff Plan 2001-04 Department of Physics Memorandum from the Senior Lecturer, dated 18 July 2002;

- (b) Library Request for Loan of Manuscripts Memorandum from the Librarian, dated 9 August 2002;
- (c) **Chair of Pastoral Theology (1888)** Canon Adrian Empey (as Principal of the Church of Ireland Theological College);
- (d) **Tutorship** Memoranda from the Senior Tutor, dated 12 July, 23 August and 6 September 2002;
- (e) **Co-ordinator of In-Service Education** Dr P C Conroy;
- (f) School of English Dr A Douglas (Chairman); Dr D Anlezark (Secretary);
- (g) **Principal Committees Information Policy Committee** Mr R B Otway-Norwood to replace Ms G E Fallon;
- (h) Visiting Academics
 - (i) **Business Studies** Professor P B Colbert (UCD) two academic years, 2002-3, 2003-4;
 - (ii) Centre for Language and Communication Studies Professor Ge Yuxin, Zhengzhou Institute of Aeronautical Industry Management, People's Republic of China – 1 October 2002 to 30 September 2003;
 - (iii) Education Professor S M Haggerty (University of Western Ontario) October 2002 to June 2003;
 - (iv) English Dr C Briganti (Carleton College, Minnesota) – two years from July 2002 to June 2004 (renewal);
- (i) Scholarship Requests for Intermission for 2002-3 the following requests to intermit were approved for
 - (i) 97738760;
 - (ii) 97539961;
 - (iii) 97640212;

(j) Staff Matters – Early Retirement

- Ms M Cassidy (Housekeeping) on 30 September 2002 (normal retirement date 30 September 2007);
- (ii) Ms E Deane (Housekeeping) on 15 August 2002 (normal retirement date 30 September 2010);
- (k) Leave of Absence
 - (i) **Music** Mr D M Dennehy academic year 2002-03;
 - (ii) Nursing and Midwifery Studies Dr M Lohan October 2002 to March 2003;
 - (iii) Occupational Therapy Dr S MacCobb October-December 2002;
- (iv) **Statistics** Dr S P Wilson academic year 2002-3;
- (l) **Representation Haughton Institute** Professor D B Shanley to replace Professor J F Malone as a Governor of the Haughton Institute;
- (m) **Student Case** a JS Science student to be re-admitted to the JS year of Natural Science reading Geography for the academic year 2002-03, constituting a third attempt;
- (n) Headship of Department History of Art Dr E J McParland – Michaelmas term 2002 (during Dr McEvansoneya's leave of absence);

(o) **Nominating Committees**

Nominating Committees	
(i)	Buildings Projects Officer (Office of the Director
	of Buildings) (permanent post)
	Bursar
	Mr T P Cooper
	Mr P M Mangan
	Dr D B Murray
	Dr B Hand (University of Limerick)
(ii)	Communications Officer (permanent post)
	Secretary
	Dr S Butler
	Ms V Jenkins
	Mr M Moloney (Setanta Communications)
	vacant (1)
(iii)	Internal Auditor (permanent post)
	Mr D Kingston
	Professor J F McGilp
	Dr S P A Allwright
	Dr M J Carroll
	Ms A FitzGerald
(iv)	Senior Web Designer (5-year contract)
	Assistant Secretary
	Mr M F Nowlan
	Dr S M McMurry
	Professor J A N Parnell
	Dr P O'Grady
	Mr S Gannon

http://www.tcd.ie/Secretary/Board