Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search



2019 Webinar Series – Autumn/Winter Programme

Wednesday 13th November: Further Numerical Modelling to Assess Passive Mitigation of Air Pollution: Capturing the Real World in Numbers

16.00 Germany/Italy (UTC+2); 15.00 United Kingdom (UTC+1); 10.00 New York (UTC-4); 07.00San Francisco (UTC-7).

Hosts: Dr Richard Baldauf, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, USA

Co-Chairs: Asst. Prof. John Gallagher, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland & Dr Richard Baldauf, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, USA

Impact of avenue-trees and hedge rows on traffic pollutant dispersion in (urban) street canyons
Dr. Christof Gromke, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Roadside Barrier Dispersion Algorithm Development with Meteorological Wind Tunnel Support
Dr. David Heist, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, USA

Urban ventilation indices and their applications to simple and complex geometries
Dr. Riccardo Buccolieri, University of Salento, Italy

 

______________________________________________________________

 

Thursday 12th December: The Future of Passive Air Pollution Mitigation: Financing Cleaner and Greener Cities

18.00 Qatar (UTC +3); 15.00 United Kingdom (UTC+1); 10.00 New York (UTC-4); 09.00 Mexico City (UTC -6); 07.00 San Francisco (UTC-7).

Hosts: Prof. Max Zhang, Cornell University, USA

Co-Chairs: Asst. Prof. John Gallagher, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland & Prof. Max Zhang, Cornell University, USA

The Economic and Air Quality Environmental Benefits of Urban Trees in Desert Regions
Dr. Rima J. Isaifan, Hamad Bin Khalifa University, Qatar

Strategies for Financing Greener Cities
Alexandru Matei, ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability, Europe

The Value of Clean Air in the Urban Environment
Beatriz Cardenas, World Resources Institute, Mexico

______________________________________________________________

 

Monday 16th September:Air Pollution Mitigation Using Passive Techniques in the Built Environment

CASANZ19 (24th International Clean Air and Environment Conference), Queenstown, New Zealand, 16-18 September 2019

11.25 New Zealand (UTC+12); 07.25 Beijing (UTC+8); 00.25 United Kingdom (UTC+1); 19.25 New York on Sunday 15th September (UTC-4); 16.25 San Francisco on Sunday 15th September (UTC-7).

Host: Christina Cowie, Centre for Air Pollution, Energy and Health Research

Integrating Passive Controls in the Urban Environment Planning Process: Research and Practice
Co-Chairs: Asst. Prof. John Gallagher, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland & Prof. Max Zhang, Cornell University, USA

The Potential for Green Infrastructure to Reduce Exposure to Air Pollution in Cities
Dr. Jennifer Salmond, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Green Infrastructure: How it Fits within Urban Spaces
Dr Paul Osmond, University of New South Wales, Australia

 

______________________________________________________________

 

Monday 21st October: The International Agenda for Urban Air Pollution and Mitigation

21.00 Manila (UTC+8); 14.00 United Kingdom (UTC+1); 09.00 New York (UTC-4); 06.00 San Francisco (UTC-7).

Host: Catriona Brady, World Green Building Council

The ‘Air Quality in the Built Environment’ Campaign
Co-Chair: Catriona Brady, World Green Building Council

BREATHELIFE: global platform to achieve WHO air quality guidelines by 2030 for our health & climate
Co-Chair: Sandra Cavalieri, Climate & Clean Air Coalition

Benefits for Health from Urban Green Spaces Strategy in Air Pollution Mitigation
Dr Pierpaolo Mudu, European Centre for Environment and Health, World Health Organisation

Mainstreaming Air Quality and Climate Measures in Urban Development and Action Planning
Dang Espita-Casanova, Environmental Researcher, Clean Air Asia

Clean Air Outlook for Europe: Towards and Beyond Compliance
Martin Schneekloth, Clean Air Unit, European Commission

 

 

2019 Webinar Series – Spring/Summer Programme

Thursday 28th March: Delving into Passive Techniques for Air Pollution Mitigation

Introductory Talks

"The Impact of Passive Air Pollution Mitigation Measures in the Built Environment"
Co-Chair: Asst. Prof. John Gallagher, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

"Towards Optimizing the Designs of Transportation Green Infrastructure"
Co-Chair: Prof. Max Zhang, Cornell University, New York, USA

 

Upcoming Sessions & Panel Discussion

Solid Barriers: Air Pollution Dispersion around Existing Infrastructure
Prof. Prashant Kumar, University of Surrey, United Kingdom

Green Infrastructure: Their Role in Air Pollution Abatement
Dr. Richard Baldauf, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, USA

Urban Design: Informing Change through Advancements in Modelling
Dr. Stijn Janssen, VITO NV, Belgium

 

______________________________________________________________

Thursday 25th April: Barriers: Air Pollution Dispersion around Existing Infrastructure

"Passive Pollution Barriers: Hedges and Trees in Open-Roadside Environments"
Chair: Prof. Prashant Kumar, University of Surrey, United Kingdom

"The Impact of Buildings and Roads on Dispersion of Vehicle Emissions: Models Informed by Experimental Findings”
Prof. Akula Venkatram, University of California, Riverside, USA

"The Passive Control of Urban Air Pollution using Solid Barriers: After 10 Years of Research, Where do we Stand?"
Assoc. Prof. Aonghus McNabola, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

 

______________________________________________________________

Thursday 30th May: Green Infrastructure: Their Role in Air Pollution Abatement

"Exploring Green Infrastructure Air Quality Impacts as part of Sustainable Urban Design"
Chair: Dr. Richard Baldauf, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, USA

"Deposition and Dispersion – Interaction between Vegetation and Particle Air Pollution"
Dr. Sara Janhäll, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden, Sweden

"The Role of Urban Trees in Mitigating Air Pollution"
Dr. David Nowak, USDA Forest Service, USA

 

______________________________________________________________

Thursday 27th June: Urban Design: Informing change through Advancements in Modelling

"Air Quality Modelling for Policy Support: An Efficient way to Explore Options for Urban Planning"
Chair: Dr. Stijn Janssen, VITO NV, Belgium

"Real-time Modeling of Traffic-related Air Pollution at Urban Scales"
Dr. Vlad Isakov, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, USA

"How CFD Modelling can Inform the Position of Green Infrastructure to Improve Air Quality in Urban Spaces"
Dr. Vera Rodrigues, University of Aveiro, Portugal

 

Further details:

  • 1–1.5-hour monthly meetings (Expert researchers in the field to give 20-minute talks, with the objective of speakers from different continents in each session).
  • 2-3 speakers per webinar topic area (It will maximise discussion times to promote international collaboration).
  • 08.00 PDT; 11.00 EDT; 16.00 IST/BST on the final Thursday of each month (Allows for morning participation by U.S. parties, late afternoon/early evening across Europe and late evening/pre-midnight for Asia).
  • The Webinar series will be hosted by Cornell University via the ZOOM platform (Easily accessible online via a range of web browsers). These sessions will not be recorded but can be repeated for specific audiences on request.