# Records

Special record volumes are published from time to time as the Board may direct, the most recent being in 2006. It contains lists of scholars (1951-2000), honorary degrees conferred (1949-2000), degrees conferred and qualifications awarded (1949-2000), moderators and respondents (1950-2000).

#### BURKITT MEDAL

Established in 2013, the Burkitt Medal is designed to recognise people with the integrity, compassion and dedication matching that of Denis Burkitt, a Trinity graduate, who is known for his discovery of Burkitt lymphoma.

The Burkitt Medal represents an opportunity for Trinity to acknowledge outstanding achievements of practitioners and researchers in cancer, preferably connected with Trinity or with a potential to establish closer links. It is also a channel for raising profile of the quality work conducted by Trinity academics and of Trinity's rich heritage.

#### GLOBAL ENGAGEMENT AWARDS

Established in 2015, the Global Engagement Awards are designed to recognise the exceptional contribution made by staff to global education, cultural understanding and global experiences that directly benefits the Trinity community, raising the College's profile and supporting the development of students into global citizens.

Up to three awards will be given each year and will be open to both current and past academic and administrative staff members. Each awardee will receive €2,000 each. It is envisaged that this will support the awardees in the advancement of their professional endeavours and engagement in a region strategic to their School or profession, in collaboration with the Global Relations Office. Winners and their nominator will be invited to an awards ceremony that will take place in April, hosted by the Provost.

### PROVOST'S PROFESSIONAL STAFF AWARDS 2019

Established in 2016, the Provost's Professional Staff Awards acknowledge the contribution of exceptional professional staff, including all administrative, technical and support staff employed in Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin.

The awards create a formal process to celebrate outstanding contributions by Trinity's professional staff, providing a high profile example of how Trinity delivers its mission of encouraging all to achieve their full potential.

These bi-annual awards are an opportunity to celebrate Trinity's professional staff whose hard work, creativity and dedication are an important element in the continuing success of the University.

They provide an opportunity to capture and promote enhancement initiatives that are ongoing at local level, but which may not be known or recognised beyond the local area.

#### Enhancing the Trinity Experience Award recipients:

Ward, Siobhan and McAteer, Philomena - Anatomy Donor Programme, School of Medicine Diffley, Anne-Marie - Visitor Services, Old Library

McAndrew, Martin John - Postgraduate Advisory Service, Senior Tutor's Office Mullin, Martina - College Health Service

# Records

Individual Leadership Award recipients: Keane, Lisa - Trinity Access Programmes Wade, Aine - School of Medicine, Education Division

Outstanding Colleague Award recipients: Browne, Sinead - Office of the Provost Lewis, Kieran - Disability Service Sullivan, David - Genetics

## PROVOST'S TEACHING AWARDS 2019

The Provost's Teaching Award Scheme is designed to recognise and reward those who have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence. The prestige of the award reflects the value which Trinity places on promoting teaching as a scholarly activity and the importance placed on enriching the learning opportunities of its students. The scope of the initiative is broad, covering all aspects of teaching, learning and assessment, and seeks to:

- Provide recognition for excellent teaching
- Reward teaching staff who are creative in their approaches to teaching and learning and who use a variety of mechanisms to achieve their learning outcomes
- Share best practice across College and encourage teaching staff to consider other approaches to course design, delivery and assessment
- Reaffirm that curriculum development, teaching, learning, assessment and evaluation, are important activities in College requiring high level expertise
- Encourage teaching staff to reflect critically on their teaching practice

Each award is to the value of €1,500 to a departmental account. At least one will be an Early Career Award for nominees with not more than five years full-time third-level teaching experience at the time of nomination (or equivalent as determined by the committee). If an applicant meets the existing criteria and additionally demonstrates in their application 'evidence of sustained commitment to teaching excellence, supporting learning and it is clear that the scholarship of the nominee has been inspirational and/or influential among academic colleagues within or beyond the institution' the nominee may also be considered for a Lifetime Achievement Award.

It is requested that the award winners would contribute to the CAPSL programme of events in the following academic year.

### Award recipients:

Browne, Brendan Ciarán - School of Religion (Early Career Award) McGinn, Conor - School of Engineering (Early Career Award) Mitchell, Tara - School of Social Sciences and Philosophy Sheridan, Helen - School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Holland, Celia - School of Natural Sciences (Lifetime Achievement Award)

## Special commendations:

Devitt, Ann - School of Education Downer, Eric - School of Medicine Kneafsey, Liam - School of Social Sciences and Philosophy Lyons, Ronan - School of Social Sciences and Philosophy O'Hagan-Luff, Martha - Trinity Business School Roche, Joseph - School of Education Saunders, Matthew - School of Natural Sciences

# ELECTIONS TO FELLOWSHIP DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2018-19

Elected to Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 7, subsection 4 (a)

Coughlan, Paul Caldwell, Maeve Kelly, Clare O'Sullivan, Jacintha McHugh, Gerard O'Sullivan, Declan Khan, Amir Crowley, Quentin O'Shaughnessy, David Cuypers, Martine de Paor, Pádraig Lupoi, Rocco Ryan, Fáinche Parnachev, Andrei O'Neill, Ciaran

Elected to Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 7, subsection 4 (b)

McElwain, Jennifer Lowery, Maeve Cronin, Michael Brady, Anne-Marie Cunningham, Mark

Elected to Honorary Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 11

Denham, Susan Fox, Peter Kendrew

HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2018-19

7 December 2018
DOCTOR IN SCIENCE
Lipson, Michal
DOCTOR IN LETTERS
Kinsella, Thomas
DOCTOR IN LAWS
Corless, Catherine
18 April 2019
DOCTOR IN SCIENCE
Cabot, David
DOCTORS IN LETTERS
The Grafton Architects: Farrell, Yvonne and McNamara, Shelley Naughton, Carmel Ó Gráda, Cormac
DOCTOR IN LAWS
O'Brien, Patricia
Calendar 2019-20