# Records

Special record volumes are published from time to time as the Board may direct, the most recent being in 2006. It contains lists of scholars (1951-2000), honorary degrees conferred (1949-2000), degrees conferred and qualifications awarded (1949-2000), moderators and respondents (1950-2000).

#### BURKITT MEDAL

Established in 2013, the Burkitt Medal is designed to recognise people with the integrity, compassion and dedication matching that of Denis Burkitt, a Trinity graduate, who is known for his discovery of Burkitt lymphoma.

The Burkitt Medal represents an opportunity for Trinity to acknowledge outstanding achievements of practitioners and researchers in cancer, preferably connected with Trinity or with a potential to establish closer links. It is also a channel for raising profile of the quality work conducted by Trinity academics and of Trinity's rich heritage.

#### Award recipients:

Dalla-Favera, Riccardo, M.Sc., M.D. (2015 awardee) Ziegler, John L., M.Sc., M.D. (2014 awardee) Brennan, Murray F., M.D. (2013 awardee)

#### GLOBAL ENGAGEMENT AWARDS 2015-16

Established in 2015, the Global Engagement Awards are held annually and are designed to recognise the exceptional contribution made by staff to global education, cultural understanding and global experiences that directly benefits the Trinity community, raising the College's profile and supporting the development of students into global citizens.

Up to three awards will be given each year and will be open to both current and past academic and administrative staff members. Each awardee will receive €2,000 each. It is envisaged that this will support the awardees in the advancement of their professional endeavours and engagement in a region strategic to their School or profession, in collaboration with the Global Relations Office. Winners and their nominator will be invited to an awards ceremony that will take place in April, hosted by the Provost.

#### Award recipients:

Faas, Daniel – School of Social Sciences and Philosophy Ferreira, Mauro – School of Physics Kelly, Kevin – School of Engineering

#### Certificates of excellence:

Byrne, Rosemary – School of Law Boylan, Fabio – School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Stevenson, Nigel – School of Biochemistry and Immunology

## PROVOST'S PROFESSIONAL STAFF AWARDS 2015-16

Established in 2016, the Provost's Professional Staff Awards acknowledge the contribution of exceptional professional staff, including all administrative, technical and support staff employed in Trinity College Dublin, the University of Dublin.

## Records

The awards create a formal process to celebrate outstanding contributions by Trinity's professional staff, providing a high profile example of how Trinity delivers its mission of encouraging all to achieve their full potential.

These annual awards are an opportunity to celebrate Trinity's professional staff whose hard work, creativity and dedication are an important element in the continuing success of the University.

They provide an opportunity to capture and promote enhancement initiatives that are ongoing at local level, but which may not be known or recognised beyond the local area.

#### Award recipients:

O'Toole-Brennan, Kathleen – Trinity Access Programme – Enhancing the Trinity Experience Award

McCann, Noel – Campus Services – Individual Leadership Award O'Rourke, Anthony – Buildings Office – Outstanding Colleague Award Thornbury, Helen – Academic Secretariat – Outstanding Colleague Award McAuley, Joe - Physics – Outstanding Colleague Award

## PROVOST'S TEACHING AWARDS 2015-16

The Provost's Teaching Award Scheme is designed to recognise and reward those who have made an outstanding contribution in the pursuit of teaching excellence. The prestige of the award reflects the value which Trinity places on promoting teaching as a scholarly activity and the importance placed on enriching the learning opportunities of its students. The scope of the initiative is broad, covering all aspects of teaching, learning and assessment, and seeks to:

- Provide recognition for excellent teaching
- Reward teaching staff who are creative in their approaches to teaching and learning and who use a variety of mechanisms to achieve their learning outcomes
- Share best practice across College and encourage teaching staff to consider other approaches to course design, delivery and assessment
- Reaffirm that curriculum development, teaching, learning, assessment and evaluation, are important activities in College requiring high level expertise
- Encourage teaching staff to reflect critically on their teaching practice

Each award is to the value of €1,500 to a departmental account. At least one will be an Early Career Award for nominees with not more than five years full-time third-level teaching experience at the time of nomination (or equivalent as determined by the committee). If an applicant meets the existing criteria and additionally demonstrates in their application 'evidence of sustained commitment to teaching excellence, supporting learning and it is clear that the scholarship of the nominee has been inspirational and/or influential among academic colleagues within or beyond the institution' the nominee may also be considered for a Lifetime Achievement Award.

It is requested that the award winners would contribute to the CAPSL programme of events in the following academic year.

#### Award recipients:

Bergin, Shane – School of Physics (Early Career Award) D'Arcy, Michelle – School of Social Sciences and Philosophy (Early Career Award) Kelly, Kevin – School of Engineering

Shortlisted candidates:

Ahern, Deirdre – School of Law Walsh, Rachael – School of Law (Early Career Award) Fazaeli, Roja – School of Languages, Literatures and Cultural Studies King, Michael – School of Social Sciences and Philosophy (Early Career Award) Rogers, Daniel – Innovation Academy (Early Career Award)

## ELECTIONS TO FELLOWSHIP DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2015-16

Elected to Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 7, subsection 4 (a)

Corvin, Aiden West, Roger Casey, Christine MacMaoláin, Caoimhín MacCárthaigh, Eoin Delaney, Paul Labrador, Juan Pablo Phelan, William Scanlan, Eoin Dotsenko, Vladimir De Angelis, Gessica Bourke, Mary Donohue, Ian McLoughlin, Rachel

Elected to Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 7, subsection 4 (b)

Garrigan, Siobhan Morash, Christopher Buckley, Yvonne Da Silva, Luiz Layte, Richard Leith, Douglas Alden, Jane Bell, Mark Burke, Andrew Donnelly, Seamas

Elected to Honorary Fellowship in accordance with the Consolidated Statutes, section 11

Campbell, William Richardson, Louise

## HONORARY DEGREES CONFERRED DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2015-16

## 27 November 2015

## DOCTORS IN LAWS

Machel, Graça McVerry, Peter Norris, David O'Neill, Rory Reichental, Tomas (Tomi)

## 24 June 2016

#### DOCTOR IN SCIENCE

Higgs, Peter

## DOCTOR IN LETTERS

Donleavy, James Patrick

Calendar 2016-17

## Records

DOCTORS IN LAWS

Biden, Joseph Robinette Jilani, Hina Mills, Lia

MASTER OF ARTS

Veselsky, Josef