Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Trinity Business Student of the Year 2019

Trinity Business School and Trinity Business Alumni in association with Bank of Ireland are delighted to announce that applications for the 25th Trinity Business Student of the Year Awards are now open.

The Award recognises and celebrates undergraduate Senior Sophister students who have achieved excellence on a number of dimensions, including academic, athletic, entrepreneurial, and social engagement. Thanks to the long-standing support of both the Trinity Business Alumni and Bank of Ireland, the award has had a long history of incentivising students to develop their skills and broaden their scope.

The Bank of Ireland Gold Medal will be presented to the winner by Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast, at the awards ceremony on Tuesday, 9th April 2019 hosted by the Bank in the splendid and historic House of Lords on College Green.

Parents and friends are invited to join students at the celebrations.

Nominate a student (or yourself) today

We all know that one person in class who stands out from the crowd. That classmate who not only has an excellent academic record but excels in sport, has started their own business, made significant contributions to campus life or society beyond its gates. Don’t let them go unrecognised, nominate them for the Business Student of the Year award. Students can also nominate themselves.

How to nominate

It’s simple, click on the Nomination link below, include the name of the student you wish to nominate (or your own name) to Yvonne Agnew at

Nominate Now

Closing date for nominations: Friday, 7th December 2018.

Applications for Business Student of the Year

Nominees will be asked to send a short letter outlining their achievements and why they should win the award along with their CV through the link below to Yvonne Agnew at Applications are open for undergraduate Senior Sophister students.

Closing date for applications: Friday, 25th January 2018.

Apply Now

The six shortlisted students will be interviewed by a panel from the Bank of Ireland, Trinity Business Alumni and the Careers Office. The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony in March.

Here are winners from previous years:

1995 Patrick Scully
1996 Barbara O’Toole
1997 Geoff Fitzpatrick
1998 Stephen Byrne
1999 Mary McGuiness
2000 Niamh McDonagh
2001 Rory O’Faircheallaigh
2002 Dylan Collins
2003 Thomas Collins
2004 Alan Foy
2005 Rachel Wallace
2006 Graham Villiers Tuthill
2007 Laura Gibson
2008 David Quinn
2009 Brian Martin
2010 Conor O’Toole
2011 Daniel Philbin Bowman
2012 Patrick Lynch
2013 Iseult Ward
2014 Jill Pierse
2015 Ben Butler
2016 Conor O’Meara
2017 Benn F Hogan
2018 Arthaud Mesnard