Skip to main content

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin

Trinity Menu Trinity Search

You are here News & Events

Trinity Sport Scholar and DUFC’S Ryan Baird re-joins Ireland’s Six Nations Squad following ‘Man of the Match’ PRO14 Performance with Leinster

Published: March 3rd, 2020

Trinity Sport Scholar and Dublin University Football Club (DUFC) men’s player Ryan Baird will train with Ireland for the early part of the week as a 35-man squad trained at Abbotstown to prepare for Saturday week’s Six Nations Championship match against France at the Stade de France. Baird re-joins the Ireland Six Nations squad having previously trained with the national squad in the preparatory camp in Portugal in late January. The 20-year-old lock has previously represented Ireland at under-18 schools and under-19 level, Baird also played a key role in Ireland’s under-20’s last February when they won a Six Nations Grand Slam.

Baird’s recent performances for Leinster in the Guinness Pro14 have attracted considerable media attention. Baird scored a hat-trick of tries and named as ‘man of the match’ on Friday as Leinster won against Glasgow Warriors 55-19 at the RDS.
The Ireland squad will train this week at the IRFU’s High Performance Centre in Blanchardstown in preparation for their 2020 Guinness Six Nations round 5 fixture against France in Paris on Saturday, March 14.

IRELAND Squad (Guinness Six Nations Camp, IRFU High Performance Centre, Dublin, March 2-5, 2020):


Forwards (20):
Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster) *
Will Connors (UCD/Leinster) *
Max Deegan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 1
Ultan Dillane (Corinthians/Connacht) 15
Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 2
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 44
Dave Heffernan (Buccaneers/Connacht) 1
Iain Henderson (Academy/Ulster) 55
Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 11
Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) 3
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 39
Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Ulster) 56
Jack O’Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster) 2
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 67
Tom O’Toole (Banbridge/Ulster) *
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 26
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 26
CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 41
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 70
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 26

Backs (15):
Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 26
Billy Burns (Ulster) *
Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 6
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 21
John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 11
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 84
Chris Farrell (Young Munster/Munster) 9
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 43
Dave Kearney (Lansdowne/Leinster) 19
Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) 24
Stuart McCloskey (Bangor/Ulster) 3
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 19
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 81
Jonathan Sexton (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) (capt) 91
Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 28